Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 29

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Welcome to Day 29 of our Life Journal!

I hope you’re hanging in there with me! : )

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 23, 24; Psalms 14; Acts 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Exodus 23, More laws of justice and mercy, Sabbath laws, Festivals…

v 20 I wonder what the angel God sent looked like? The one he sent to lead and to guard… Was he obviously and angel, or would be pass as a human if God hadn’t said anything?

Exodus 24, “Then the LORD said to Moses, “Come up to the LORD, you and Aaron, Nadab and Abihu, and seventy of the elders of Israel. You are to worship at a distance, 2 but Moses alone is to approach the LORD; the others must not come near. And the people may not come up with him. 3 When Moses went and told the people all the LORD’s words and laws, they responded with one voice, “Everything the LORD has said we will do.” (Easier said than done…)

Psalm 14, “The fool says in his heart, “There is no God… The LORD looks down from heaven on all mankind to see if there are any who understand, any who seek God.”

Acts 5:41, “The apostles left the Sanhedrin, rejoicing because they had been counted worthy of suffering disgrace for the Name.”

O bservation

So many laws, and we’re barely getting started!

(24:1-2) I’m so thankful we all get to draw near in worship now… That we may all “come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:16 It’s not just for the elite or the powerful, but it’s for everyone… I love that God invited Moses into His presence, on the mountain.

I wonder what the people thought when Moses sprinkled blood on them… I wonder if it was on everyone?

A pplication

I want to be one of those who, when God looks down, sees me seeking him… to be one who understands. To be one who “never stops teaching and proclaiming the good news that Jesus is the Messiah.”

P rayer

Lord, I only have any understanding because of You… I will continue seeking You… and worshiping You.

P.S. I have come to a conclusion as we near the end of our first month… This works better for me if I read all the passages first, THEN do my SOAP. Otherwise my SOAP becomes a blow by blow commentary, vs the intent of the SOAP to discover and share what stands out, not giving my observations verse by verse… I’m curious how yours is going?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 29

  1. This was shared by my friend Michael Fischer… Scott: see if you think this is a fitting song to share with LifeJournal folks: http://youtu.be/JIF3GQJF72g

    I hope you enjoy it!

  2. That is a great song for restoration of my heart towards the lord. Thanks for sharing that Scott!

  3. Cheryl Dunlap on said:

    Hi Scott and all others who are traveling this journey:

    I agree with you, that I try to read/listen to all the daily readings first, then get a “feel” for how it speaks to me each day. One observation I had from the readings today is how God uses sufferings and victories to teach us and those around us. He always brings us through, and closer to Him, if we ask and follow. He finds us where we are….I feel so fortunate to have discovered this truth through Him. He is Mighty to Save. Thank You Father.

  4. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalms 14:2- (msg) “God sticks his head out of heaven. He looks around.
    He’s looking for someone, not stupid-one man, even, God-expectant, just one God-ready woman. 3 He comes up empty. A string of zeros. Useless, shepherded Sheep, taking turns pretending to be Shepherd. The ninety and nine follow their fellow. 4 Don’t they know anything, all these imposters? Don’t they know they can’t get away with this-Treating people like a fast-food meal, over which they’re too busy to pray? 6…for God makes your dreams come true.7…God turns life around. Turned-around Jacob skips rope, turned-around Israel sings laughter.”

    Does the Lord see me as a God-ready woman? I feel ready. Am I?

    Put my eyes on you, Lord. I don’t want to be the Shepherd. I want to be your sheep, under your control. Slow me down, Lord. Slow, slow me down. Help me to put people over tasks. You make dreams come true! Thank you for being the life changer, for turning my life around. Thank you for bringing me joy!

    Last night in Doug’s sermon he talked about having faith statements for your life.
    Today’s verses brought me three new faith statements to speak over my life each day.

    “God makes my dreams come true” Psalm 14:6
    “God is my healer” Acts 5:16
    “God does miracles and opens doors that are locked” Acts 5:19

  5. Mark Long on said:

    I’ve been doing the same. I’m trying to just soak in the word and see what the Lord reveals as the one or two important passages or messages for me in a days reading.
    I just want to say that I’m so thankful that we are doing the Life Journal and believe that it is helping me to get deeper into the Word and closer to God. This blog has also helped a lot since I can check back later in the day and see what Scott and others have taken from the reading. What a blessing!

Leave a comment