Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Congratulations!

What a year it was!

I find myself sitting here thinking, what should I say? What do I do now?

Well, first let me commend you if you made it to the end… I know many who… just couldn’t do it. Many who did the reading, but gave up on the journaling…

Frankly, I understand.

coffee_journal_mills1983-flickr_attrib_noderivs

I want everyone to keep in mind that I have been publicly committed to this. That doesn’t make it any easier, but it does up the commitment level considerably.

I almost started to say, “I had no choice.” But I did.

I guess I could have stopped…

(Honestly, there were plenty of times I wanted to…)

Not the reading… but the journaling. Many days I felt uninspired, but was keenly aware that there were many sets of eyes on my blog.

Knowing that inspired me to keep going.

The final tally of views of the blog?

78,000!

Let me temper that number a bit… that’s 213 views per day, every day. We averaged 100 unique viewers per day, who each viewed it 1.5+ times… (Probably due to revisiting when it wasn’t posted by 8:00 AM a few times per week?)

All I really know is every week I had someone approach me to say thanks for the blog. That it inspired them to keep going. Or that they would do their journal then compare it to mine.

I also discovered early on that most viewers don’t like to comment. I understand that feeling of vulnerability… I experienced it many times over the past year. Almost daily.

I had to fight feeling like I sounded like a broken record! I mean, I have only so many stories and insights. Only so many themes to write about!

Pages turning Bible

Having said, that, this was transformational for me. I have a better understanding of the entire Bible than ever before. I did more personal research and reflection than ever before. I learned a lot along the way… about myself.

I look forward to seeing you all at the Life Journal Celebration Wednesday, January 09, 2013  6:30PM – 8:30PM at our Beavercreek campus!

Happy New Year!

God bless,

Scott

Scott

 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Congratulations!

  1. Okie Buschur on said:

    Thanks for your dedication and inspiration I received during this journey with you. I will miss reading your journal , looked forward to it daily. Wishing you and yours a very happy and blessed new year.

  2. So wow what a year its been! I understand alot more about commitment in something i set out to do one year ago and watching the commitment in others. Ive learned alot about myself and discovered Gods word in a new light. It brings me to the 78,000 clicks! Thats great scott! (No pun intended) while i didnt post daily and at times didnt read the blog i DID the work. I started each day greeting my Abba Father and opened my heart and mind for Him. Like tithing i wanted my Saviour to know I cannot do this without Him in my boat.

    Please Pappa get in. The storms are raging around me and sometimes im scared and feel so selfish. I pray continually for Him to show me what to do next. At times when i was falling asleep at the wheel (rather the keyboard) He could see my heart. Ahhh..He sees the heart.

    So ive asked myself, what was your favorite part? Ive decided its the story of the Prodigal son. Afterall, arent (or werent we) all lost at some point and still struggle. And seeing the son throw his inheritance to the wind on mindless things of the world. Seeing him, the son, standing far off from Abba Father. Pappa gets ready the feast, the fattened calf, the crown and the robe. Seeing in my mind the son (or daughter) running towards Father and His welcoming words and loving arms. Arms that comfort and heal any wound, no matter how deep. No earthly arms can offer. No words need spoken for the Father immediately forgave the son and the past.

    The son knowing he can always go home to the Father and find what the world cannot possibly give. No matter what. So anyone elsle have a favorite part to share.?

    So as we close this past year i wanna thank scott for continuing the blog and the leadership here and in our community. And my Abba Father for the journey. Yes i started again today. Theres alot to learn.
    happy new year!

  3. Thanks for leading the charge, taking the time and writing your thoughts.

  4. Anonymous on said:

    Well done Scott!!!

  5. Thanks for being a great example of how to walk in the word Scott. Also, today’s post is pretty impressive since I heard you were in Times Square, NYC to watch the ball drop.

    For those looking for “What’s next”, the Keith Thomas study on Eternity will start on 13 Jan 2013. You can meet at 9am on Sun morning with Keith or 7pm on Wednesday evening with Adam and myself. You can also simply do the study in your own small group anywhere. You can access the study as well as a multitude of other material from Keith at http://groupbiblestudy.com/

    Congrats everyone for a great LifeJournal in 2012. See you at the celebration!

  6. Nicole Marvin on said:

    What a year! This has been the best thing I have ever done and has made this the best year of my life. I now know where my daily bread comes from. The Lord fills me like no one else or no thing ever could.

    Thank you, Scott, for all of your hard work and for sharing your thoughts with us.
    Thank you to those who posted and shared their thoughts…it was so inspiring.

    I feel a bit in limbo today-wondering where to go from here. But I know this is going to be a great year, waiting for the Lord to reveal himself to me.

    Isaiah 58:11
    “And I will always guide you and satisfy you with good things. I will keep you strong and well. You will be like a garden that has plenty of water, like a spring of water that never goes dry.”

    May it be so for all of us!

  7. I found the experience transforming, liberating, not always pretty, at times painful, but very much worth it. Thank you for your leadership Scott, I can’t imagine how much pressure there was to do this for you. But so glad you did!

  8. Marcia Zecchini on said:

    Thanks again Scott for your blog. I couldn’t have done it without you.

  9. Mark Long on said:

    Like “Shock” said, I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to use this year for a devotional. The Life Journal & SOAP method is the best “year through the bible” that I’ve used so far.

    Thanks Scott for being our fearless leader!!!

Leave a Reply

