Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 30

Monday, January 30, 2012

Welcome to Day 30 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Exodus 25, 26, 27; Acts 6 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Exodus 25, 26, 27 are the instructions for the Ark of the Covenant, the Tabernacle, and all its furnishings…

Click on image for best readability.

25:8-9 “Then have them make a sanctuary for me, and I will dwell among them. 9 Make this tabernacle and all its furnishings exactly like the pattern I will show you.”

Acts 6:1, “In those days when the number of disciples was increasing, the Hellenistic Jews among them complained against the Hebraic Jews… choose seven men from among you who are known to be full of the Spirit and wisdom. We will turn this responsibility over to them.” (Great example of going from “me” to “we.” Ephesians 4, “equipping the saints for the work of the ministry.”)

Bottom line, church growth always creates problems. ‘Nuf said…

Again, I know how this story of Stephen turns out… “the witnesses laid their coats at the feet of a young man named Saul. (Paul.)

O bservation

Today’s readings again reminded me that God is not, and does not want to be far off. He wants to be WITH us. With me… Not distant. Near.

Revelation 21:3, “And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God.”

Matthew 27:50-51, “And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit. 51 At that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom.” (The curtain separating the Holy Place from the Most Holy Place or The Holy of Holies

Hebrews 10:19, “…we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus…”

A pplication

Today’s application is easy. I need to remember, every moment, that God wants to be with me.

P rayer

God I thank you that you want to be with me. Thank you for tearing that curtain that kept man separated from you… that kept us from entering into that Most Holy Place. Thank you that you don’t dwell in buildings or tents… but that you live in us, and abide with us by your Spirit. Thank you for your son Jesus, the Lamb of God, and our great high priest who made this possible according to your plan.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 30

  1. Mark Long on said:

    The readings in Exodus brought to mind how He is a God of order and detail and that i need to be reminded to praise all of His creation. When you look at the complexity of all the things in this world and how they work together, how can you not see that there had to be a devine creator!

  2. In the Exodus readings I see God providing incredible detail as to His assignments – His Divine appointment – for His people and their work. God raised up skilled craftsman to complete various aspects of the work, and He invited ALL the people to give offerings toward the completion of the work. Later, when the work began, countless people would have to be involved in the creation and construction of all these items for the Tabernacle. As John Wimber said, ‘everybody gets to play!’ 🙂 The specificity really grabbed me – God gives us very particular assignments to carry out His Kingdom work. In the Acts 6 passage, the same thing is occurring. Some of the folks were called specifically to preach and pray; others were called specifically to serve the widows. When each person played their role, the word of God spread, the number of disciples increased rapidly, and a large number of priests became believers (Acts 6:7). Reminds me of Paul’s description of the Body of Christ in 1 Cor. 12. We each have a very specific role to play and if we’ll play it, the Body will be healthy and vibrant and the Kingdom will advance with power.

    Dear God, there are many “good” things that I could do for you; please lead me to fill the specific function You have prepared for me within Your Body. I want to bring You glory through my offering. Thanks, God.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Like Mark & Elizabeth, I too noted how God gave such detailed instructions in Exodus of what he wanted done. My prayer is that I will know and hear the Lord’s voice, so I can follow his detailed instructions for my life.

    Acts 6:15 “As all those who sat on the High Council looked at Stephen, they found they couldn’t take their eyes off him-his face was like the face of an angel!”

    Lord, help me to exude your love and peace. I want others to see you in me.

  4. I thought of all those years the Israelites had lived as slaves. God took the years as slaves and redeemed not only his people but their skills–skills they had used to build Pharoh’s kingdom were now being used to build God’s Tabernacle. And, I am thankful that the God we love works all things together for good and for His purposes!

Leave a Reply

