Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 361

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 361 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Revelation 1; Revelation 2; Revelation 3; Revelation 4 2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

Bible-Revelation-1

S cripture

Revelation 1:1, “The revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave him to show his servants what must soon take place. He made it known by sending his angel to his servant John, 2 who testifies to everything he saw—that is, the word of God and the testimony of Jesus Christ. 3 Blessed is the one who reads the words of this prophecy, and

blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it,

because the time is near.”

11 “Write on a scroll what you see and send it to the seven churches: to Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea.”

Revelation 2 (To the church in Ephesus) 4 “You have forsaken your first love.”

(To the church in Smyrna) 10 “Do not be afraid of what you are about to suffer.”

(To the church in Pergamum) 14 “You have people there who hold to the teaching of Balaam, who taught Balak to entice the Israelites to sin by eating food sacrificed to idols and by committing sexual immorality. 15 Likewise you also have those who hold to the teaching of the Nicolaitans.”

(To the church in Thyatira) 20 “You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophetess.”

“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

Revelation 3 (To the church in Sardis) 2 “Wake up! Strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your deeds complete in the sight of my God.”

(To the church in Philadelphia) 11 “I am coming soon. Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take your crown.”

(To the church in Laodicia) 16 “because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.”

“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

Revelation 4:8, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come.”

Seven-Candles-Burning-Widescreen-Wallpaper

O bservation

Interesting to read all the different points the Lord is making with each of the churches.

A pplication

Seems a common theme is “I know your deeds…” (And they are good!)”

“However…”

Inevitably, I end up wondering what the Lord’s “howevers” would be in my life?

I know your deeds, Scott… your concern for the poor. Your love for people… for my word.

Who know, He may not even agree with my perception of myself, my deeds and what I consider good?

Don’t get me wrong, this is just a little soul-searching. I know he loves me and enjoys watching me do what I do… just as I love seeing my kids do what they do.

And I brag on them…

I’m pretty sure He brags on me! (That’s my boy!)

But, just like the Rich Young Ruler, if I were to ask, “What do I lack?” He would have an answer for me. Not in a condemning way… but in a way that He wants the best for me, so He would let me know what I need to work on to continue growing…

I mean, we all always lack something. We are still human… (Just for the record, though, the churches in Smyrna and Philadelphia, as a whole, had nothing mentioned against them…)

See a chart of the Seven Churches in Revelation.

Instruction to each of the churches…

Repent and do the works you did at first.

Remain faithful.

Repent.

praying-with-open-hands

Repent.

Strengthen what little faith remains.

See that open door before you…

Turn from indifference. Repent.

Sounds like sound instruction for me… for each of us as we head into a new year!

P rayer

Lord, as Jesus did, I want to continue growing in wisdom and stature, with You, and with men…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

