Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 357

Sunday, December 23, 2012

Welcome to Day 357 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: John 15; John 16; John 17; John 18 2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

Pages turning Bible

S cripture

John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches.”

26 “When the Counselor comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father, he will testify about me.”

[Father, Son, Spirit in one verse.]

John 16:15, “All that belongs to the Father is mine.”

33 “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

John 17:3, “Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.”

5 “Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.” 17…

“Your word is truth.”

John 18:37, “Jesus answered, “You are right in saying

I am a king.

In fact, for this reason I was born, and for this I came into the world…”

50150011L-2RM

Father, Son, Holy Spirit: Water, ice, steam is a pretty good example of “the three in one.”

O bservation

I am never quite sure in what direction to go…

Options: The Trinity, trouble, truth…

A pplication

I have never had a problem accepting what the Bible says as truth. Like the Trinity, for instance.

Only makes sense to me. The Father sent his only Son. Then the Son returns to the Father and sends the Comforter, the Spirit of Truth to abide with us and to teach us.

What a deal!

The Son is seated at the right hand of the Father, making intercession for me? And for all believers??

What a deal!

And the Holy Spirit is going to guide me? And teach me?

What a deal!

Are you kidding me??

This is incredible! And you don’t believe… Why??

My question is, why don’t you believe?

Because there is evil in the world? Because you can’t see him with your eyes? Because what could the death of a man 2,000 years ago have to do with you?

Jesus said, “Your word is truth.” (Funny, he told his disciples this just before Pilate asked him, “What is truth?”)

The truth is, according to John 3:16, “God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that

whoever

believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.”

Whoever. Who is whoever? You… me… everyone, everywhere.

This grace is available to all…

All one must do is believe on the one whom God sent.

Jesus.

P rayer

God I thank you that you sent your only son for me!

Worship

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 357

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    John 15:5-6 (MSG)
    “I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. ”

    I can’t produce a thing, if I’m not joined with Christ. But if I am joined with him, the harvest is sure to be abundant!

    Thank you, Father, for your son. Thank you, Jesus, for loving me intimately.
    Thank you, Jesus, for holding me tight. I never want to be separated from you.

Leave a Reply

