Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 350

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Welcome to Day 350 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Peter 1; 1 Peter 2; 1 Peter 3; 1 Peter 4; 1 Peter 5 2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

journal2

S cripture

1 Peter 1:18, “It was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed [purchased] from the empty way of life handed down to you from your ancestors, 19 but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.”

1 Peter 2:4, “As you come to him, the living Stone—rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him— 5 you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.”

1 Peter 3:17, “It is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.”

1 Peter 4:7,

“The end of all things is near.”

8 “Love covers over a multitude of sins.”

1 Peter 5:7, “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

secret_service.jpg.crop_display

O bservation

1 Peter is an amazing book, simple, clear, yet sprinkled with deep truths. Some great one-liners!

A pplication

I have often wondered what the verse, “Love covers over a multitude of sins.” really means…

The verse that precedes that verse is about loving one another deeply…

Does it mean that we should overlook the sins of others?

Does it mean that we should never confront one another over such matters?

Does it mean that we should simply turn a blind eye?

I don’t think so.

I think it means that we love each other through all situations. That in love, we help, serve and when necessary, confront one another. I also think it means that we don’t pick each other apart… That we don’t remove the speck from another person’s eye when we have a log in our own.

Hand Reaching

Amen?

I think it also means we don’t spread each others’ stuff around… In my love for you, I keep your stuff to myself. My love for you “covers” your back. I protect you… We “bear one another’s burdens.”

This in no way means that we “hide” each other’s sins. (There is nothing worse than a cover-up, is there?) It simply means that in love, we guard each other. We believe the best in each other. We mine the gold from each other’s lives.

Love believes the best.

We are all on this journey together.

I think we need each other more than we realize…

P rayer

Lord I thank you that you have put people all around me to watch my back. To love me, to bear my burdens, to cover me, and to help me!

Youth-Worship

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

