Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 341

Friday, December 7, 2012

Welcome to Day 341 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Colossians 1; Colossians 2; Colossians 3; Colossians 4 2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

Bible-007

S cripture

Colossians 1:15, “The Son is the image of the invisible God.”

21 “Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior. 22

But now…

… he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation— 23 if you continue in your faith, established and firm, and do not move from the hope held out in the gospel.”

Colossians 2:9, “For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form.”

Colossians 3:1, “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ…”

12 “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved…”

Colossians 4:2, “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”

5 “Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. 6 Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.”

looking into a microscope

O bservation

Devote yourselves to being… thankful…

A pplication

Funny, I get “devote yourselves to… prayer…

But to being thankful? Now that’s an interesting order, isn’t it.

In 1 Thessalonians 5:16 Paul wrote, “Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

THIS is God’s will for you… Rejoice always, pray continually (to prayer) give thanks in all circumstances (being thankful)…

THIS is God’s will for me. Rejoice ALWAYS, pray CONTINUALLY, give thanks in ALL circumstances.

Ever want to know what God’s will is for your life?

Well, there is your answer.

P rayer

Lord help me to give thanks in all circumstances…

PS Obviously, God’s will for us goes on from there… but this is foundational to our life, regardless of where we work, live, who we marry, kids or no kids, etc…

praying_hands

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 341

  1. Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. (Col. 3:5 ESV)

    This morning, the contrast between ESV and MSG versions caught my attention.

    And that means killing off everything connected with that way of death: sexual promiscuity, impurity, lust, doing whatever you feel like whenever you feel like it, and grabbing whatever attracts your fancy. (Col. 3:5 MSG)

    I like the way The Message modernizes concepts and makes them more personal. Using the term sexual promiscuity instead of sexual immorality just gives it more punch in the modern day. Maybe it’s because we have been beat over the head with the term “immoral” in the church. Not that it’s a wrong term. It’s just one of those words that we (I know I do) tune out. Also, the ESV tells us to put passion to death. I think we need to revive passion in worship. We need to relearn how to passionately love God and others. Lust, however, does need to die.

    Killing “evil desire” vs. killing “doing whatever you feel like whenever you feel like it”: One of the main themes of this journey for me has been deepening the concept of obedience and being more concerned with God’s plans and changing my plans to align with His, and trusting in His timing. Perhaps God gave me vertigo to slow me down since I can be a machine that goes to work and works and works and works. Who knows.

    Finally, killing off idolatry is not that big of a deal. I don’t have any golden calves hanging around, right? Comparing that to not “grabbing whatever attracts my fancy” though. A lot of things attract my fancy, …especially drums. They’re shiny and smell good. Something about the sound of drumming wakes up my soul. Walking in to a drum store is like stepping into heaven on earth. I’ve learned restraint of course, but I know this is an area where I have to be cautious. My desire is to play drums for Jesus and help people worship Him. I hope that makes it acceptable.

    I want my plans to align with yours and your desire to fill my soul. Let me to better hear and understand. Let Your kingdom come.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Colossians 2:20-21
    “You have died with Christ and are set free from the ruling spirits of the universe. Why, then, do you live as though you belonged to this world? Why do you obey such rules as “Don’t handle this,” “Don’t taste that”, “Don’t touch the other?”.

    I have to remind myself continually that I have been set free. This world is not my home and I should not be focused on the concerns of this world.

    Thank you, Lord, for this reminder. Thank you for the gift of your son. For the freedom that I have been given. Please help me to stay focused on you. Thank you for your Spirit who fills me up. I adore you.

  3. Julie walker on said:

    Col.2:13 God made you alive in Christ. He forgave our sins. 14) having cancelled the written code with all of its regulations that was against us, and all that stood opposed to us, he took it away and ,nailing it to the cross.
    The “written code” prior to Jesus was nearly impossible to follow. “All regulations being against us” man could not have a relationship with God. It says ALL that opposed us. He took it away, nailing it to the cross and forever saving us. Its the one thing i can count on. The only thing we need.
    Father i thank you for sacraficing your Son for us. You re “mighty to save.“

  4. I can’t tell you how much it means to me that you all have hung in there on this year-long journey! Your participation and insights put wind in my sails every day! God bless!

Leave a Reply

