Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 338

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Welcome to Day 338 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ephesians 1; Ephesians 2; Ephesians 3; Ephesians 4 2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

BIBLE Ephesians

S cripture

Ephesians 1:17, “I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation,

so that you may know him better.”

Ephesians 2:4, “Because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ…”

10 “For we are God’s handiwork [workmanship], created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

Ephesians 3:8, “Although I am less than the least of all the Lord’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the boundless riches of Christ…”

20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

Ephesians 4:2, “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. 3 Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.”

29 “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

32 “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

observe-look-magnifying-glass

O bservation

Paul wrote amazing letters! Ephesians is loaded!

A pplication

As I looked over the verses above, it was as though I was looking at an outline of my life, my walk with the Lord.

Each verse had some significance to me, beyond the Lord highlighting it this morning.

He made me alive in Christ. Called me to good works. Wants me to be completely humble, gentle, compassionate…

He is able to do immeasurably more than I could ask or imagine!

And he wants me to draw close, to know him better and better.

Paul is so practical… clear in what he wants people to do, or to not do. He is constantly encouraging people to press in. To bear with each other. To forgive others as Christ has forgiven them, us, me.

I think that’s it for me for today. Just a simple reminder of all that he has done for me and how he wants me to live.

P rayer

Thank you Lord for making me alive in Christ!

man-praying1

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 338

  1. With the Lord’s authority I say this: Live no longer as the Gentiles do…

    I want to swap the word “Gentile” with “Average people”. We are mostly Gentiles, so the word has no meaning making it easy to dismiss. We could say “Unbelievers” or “Unsaved”, but to me, saying that makes it too easy to look down on someone.

    throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, which is corrupted by lust and deception

    We need to think different, behave different, BE different. Looking back over the years, I used to desire so many other things. I was ambitious, and quite honestly, lustful. I was a practicing Christian at the time. The more I read the this book and take chapters like Eph 4 to heart, the more I change. Not out of guilt, but something deep down just… changes. It’s like having our spark plugs/wires changed, fuel lines cleaned, and oil changed. Everything runs smoother, even when the road is a bit rough.

    With that being said, I don’t want to stop changing. It just keep getting better and better. I no longer feel threatened or afraid. It’s easier to trust in God.

    Thank you for revealing your heart through scripture. Please continue to give me wisdom and revelation so that I can know You better and share with others Your magnificence.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Ephesians 3: 14-21 (Msg)
    ” My response is to get down on my knees before the Father, this magnificent Father who parcels out all heaven and earth. I ask him to strengthen you by his Spirit—not a brute strength but a glorious inner strength—that Christ will live in you as you open the door and invite him in. And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, you’ll be able to take in with all followers of Jesus the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.

    20-21 God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

    Glory to God in the church!
    Glory to God in the Messiah, in Jesus!
    Glory down all the generations!
    Glory through all millennia! Oh, yes!”

    What a beautiful message from Paul, about our heavenly father. I pray this for all of us today. That we might know his love. That we might live full lives, full in the fullness of God!

Leave a Reply

