Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 333

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Welcome to Day 333 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Thessalonians 4; 1 Thessalonians 5; 2 Thessalonians 1; 2 Thessalonians 2; Thessalonians 3 2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Thessalonians 4:11, “Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, 12 so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.”

1 Thessalonians 5:16, “Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for

this is God’s will for you

in Christ Jesus.”

28 “The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.”

2 Thessalonians 1:2, “Grace and peace to you from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.”

12 “We pray this so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.”

2 Thessalonians 2:16, “May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, 17 encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”

2 Thessalonians 3:11, “We hear that some among you are idle and disruptive. They are not busy; they are busybodies. 12 Such people we command and urge in the Lord Jesus Christ to settle down and earn the food they eat. 13 And as for you, brothers and sisters, never tire of doing what is good.”

O bservation

Grace is a recurring theme in Paul’s letters… He often opens and closes with “grace and peace to you.” He also referred to grace throughout…

A pplication

“Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now am found, was blind but now I see.”

Where would I be without the grace of God?

I can’t imagine.

Grace is simply defined as “God’s unmerited favor.”

Grace is God giving us what we don’t deserve. Mercy.

Mercy is God NOT giving us what we do deserve. Punishment.

It’s because of his grace that I stand. It’s because of his grace that I am still alive, married, not in jail… able to help others, leading others in worship.

It’s only because of his grace.

It’s only because of your grace Lord…

P rayer

I am so thankful. Your grace is amazing…

 

“He who has the Son, has life.” 1 John 5:12

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 333

  1. 1the. 5:12 therefore encourage one another and build each other up just in fact as yoy are doing. 13-14) live at peace with one another. We urge you brothers warn those who are idle, encourage the timid, help the weak, be patient with everyone. 16) be joyful always, pray continually and give thanks in all circumstances.
    Seems like a great list of basic rules to live by but we have “our moments “and become self centered and forget what it means to just offer a kind word to someone or even respond when someone you don’t know speaks to you.
    It says “be patient with EVERYONE “.(Ms. Drive too fast I’m in a hurry I’m REALLY smiling thru my gritted teeth!) I repeated this to myself all day. All day..
    My car was totaled. Which hit my daughters car whose is also pretty damaged. Yea. You
    read it right. Totaled. I wasn’t in it .nor was I placing my 17 mo old granddaughter in her seat. I did moments before exit THAT car. Moments.
    The lady plowed into both cars and totaled her own car. Everyone’s ok. I JUST got my car back last week from the shop and it cost 1800.00 to fix it to keep it on the winter roads.
    But more important it can be replaced. I felt Gods grace breathe on my family and anyone in the vicinity.
    I went to enjoy lunch with my daughter at her house and poof.
    this verse today was for me:
    Be joyful ALWAYS
    Pray continually
    Give Thanks in ALL circumstances.
    Father thank you for your protection and your Word. from your former in a hurry driver..

    • Anonymous on said:

      Amen! The possibilities were endless but the one that occurred kept us all safe and gave a little reminder that we are still alive!

Leave a Reply

