Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 331

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 331 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Psalms 125; Matthew 26; Matthew 27 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Psalm 125:1, “Those who trust in the Lord are like Mount Zion, which cannot be shaken but endures forever. 2 As the mountains surround Jerusalem, so the Lord surrounds his people both now and forevermore.”

Matthew 26:10, “Why are you bothering this woman? She has done a beautiful thing to me. 11 The poor you will always have with you, but you will not always have me.”

33 “Peter replied, ‘Even if all fall away on account of you, I never will.'”

41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

67 “Then they spit in his face and struck him with their fists. Others slapped him 68 and said,

‘Prophesy to us, Messiah. Who hit you?'”

Matthew 27:22, “‘What shall I do, then, with Jesus who is called the Messiah?’ Pilate asked. They all answered,

‘Crucify him!'”

O bservation

It’s hard to imagine how Jesus was treated…

A pplication

I was fully prepared to talk about the poor… about the woman’s expensive offering. How the people responded to her act of worship and generosity. (I came across an interesting harmony study of all four accounts of Jesus being anointed… Worth looking at. CLICK HERE to check it out.)

But I can’t ignore the power of the images within the text of Jesus being mocked…

“Then they spit in his face and struck him with their fists. Others slapped him 68 and said, ‘Prophesy to us, Messiah. Who hit you?'”

… thereby fulfilling Isaiah’s prophecy, “I offered my back to those who beat me, my cheeks to those who pulled out my beard; I did not hide my face from mocking and spitting. (50:6.)

I don’t recall every having someone spit in my face. You see it a lot in movies… I did get slapped once (or twice…) when I was younger, but not in a mocking manner.

As I read that verse, I had an overwhelming feeling… a sense of what it must have been like for Jesus. The humiliation… the torment… culminating with a crown of thorns and a purple robe being placed upon him as they mockingly hailed him as “King of the Jews.”

I know Christmas is just around the corner… this is the Easter story… But these stories are not separate. Jesus’ birth and death are both critical pieces of the puzzle.

Virgin birth.

Crucifixion.

Raised from the dead.

Let’s keep in mind through this holiday season why Jesus was born. Why he came. His purpose was to show us the Father. (John 14:8-11.)

And to die for our sins…

So that we could live.

“The angel said to them, ‘Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.'” Luke 2:10-11

“For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the greatness of his government and peace
there will be no end.
He will reign on David’s throne
and over his kingdom,
establishing and upholding it
with justice and righteousness
from that time on and forever.” Isaiah 9:6-7

P rayer

Thank you Father that you sent your son to die for me…

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 331

  1. The brutality of it always gets me. To endure such pain and suffering… and then to ask God to forgive them because they don’t know what they are doing. That is just… wow! Who would do that? It’s hard enough to forgive someone that cuts us off on the highway, but forgiving someone while they are literally murdering you is amazing.

    I want to forgive like that to the very end.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    These verses brought images from “The Passion” (the movie) to my mind. All of the suffering that he endured for us is overwhelming.

    Matt. 26:33 is what has consumed me this morning. Peter says to Jesus, “I will never leave you, even though all the rest do!”

    Peter thinks he knows who he is. He thinks he would never leave Christ. That he would never deny him. Then he denies him three times. He even swears that he is telling the truth and then says “May God punish me if I am not!”

    I think I know who I am. I think I know how I would react in circumstances. My spirit feels on fire for Christ. My mind feels strong and focused. But am I? Would I deny Christ if I was put in Peter’s place? Am I fooling myself? So much to ponder…

    Lord, my strength comes from you alone. My spirit is willing, but my flesh is weak. I need you!

  3. Wow..so much on my mind. Matt 26:46 rise up let us go! Here comes my betrayer.50) Jesus replied, Friend do what you came for. 72) he denied it again with an oath, I don’t know the man. 27:4 I have sinned for I have betrayed innocent blood. 52) the tombs were broke open and many holy people who had died were raised to life. 53) they came out of the tombs and after jesuss resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many.
    Jesus didn’t run from His betrayer. In fact He ROSE to meet him and even called him “friend.” Judas admitted he had sinned before he hung himself. Does this mean he was forgiven by God? I guess that’s something no one really knows just an interesting point.
    Have you ever “denied something with an oath?” By saying like, ” I promise on so and so’s grave that that’s true or not true” to drive your claim home. That’s what Peter did. I never saw that before. Last imagine living in the holy city after the resurrection and the ghost of say Jeremiah pays you a visit! Whoa.
    There was so much to take in here. Father thank you for your teachings and giving us greater insights as we read your Word. Thank you for saving us.

Leave a Reply

