Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 330

Monday, November 26, 2012

Welcome to Day 330 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Matthew 23; Matthew 24; Matthew 25 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Matthew 23:3, “So you must be careful to do everything they tell you. But do not do what they do, for they do not practice what they preach.”

“Those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

13 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees,

you hypocrites!”

23 “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cumin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former. 24 You blind guides! You strain out a gnat but swallow a camel.”

37 “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and

you were not willing.”

Matthew 24:35, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.”

Matthew 25:12, “He replied, ‘Truly I tell you,

I don’t know you.'”

O bservation

Hypocrites. You were not willing. I don’t know you.

A pplication

Blind guides, brood of snakes and vipers, greedy, self-indulgent, wicked… wow…  (That’s the short list.) I could go on, but I think I’ll stop there. Point has been made…

Jesus had very few kind words for the Pharisees, Sadducees and teachers of the Law.

Included in his series of “woes” are these two statements.

1. “You shut the door of the kingdom of heaven in people’s faces” and, 2. “You travel over land and sea to win a single convert, and when you have succeeded, you make them twice as much a child of hell as you are.”

Well, I’m encouraged this morning…

I always try to blog on what jumps out at me… that’s the idea, right? But today feels very heavy to me. This really saddens my heart…

How does this apply to me? Well, I just wonder what Jesus would say about me… how I treat people. How I teach… do I live it or just teach it. Am I a hypocrite? Would I be numbered with them, or am I different.

I sure hope so.

And I’m not looking for validation… I am pretty self-aware… I know my strengths and weaknesses better than anyone.

What I don’t know is what Jesus would say to me

I guess I’ll find that out at some point, when I stand before him. (I am not in fear over this… just wondering.)

P rayer

Lord, help me to not be one who shuts the door of the kingdom in people’s faces. I want to be a door opener!

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 330

  1. I don’t like the thought of being “woe’d” by Jesus. I try to test myself by His words. Sometimes I feel OK… other things like an epic fail. I think I do better in some things than I realize and in others, not as good as I believe. We all have strengths and weakness. Lord, thank you for my strengths and use me in my weaknesses to bring you glory.

  2. Matt. 24:12-13 because of the increase in wickedness the love of most will grow cold. But he who stands firm to the end will be saved. 25) see I have told you ahead of time. 25:23 you have been faithful with a few things I will put you in charge of many.

    It REALLY says MOST. That’s a majority and frightening to consider. I wanna be in the minority. He told us ahead of time so we could prepare. Lots of that time is wasted on worldly things (I speak for me as well) . While I am on an awesome walk I’m “in the world” and continually challenged about how I spend my time.
    I used to play the lottery. I would win almost daily. I rationalized that God was “with me” and “blessing me” then one day He revealed to me it was like the asherah poles of old and the “gifts” I was receiving was not from Him.
    He said to me Do you think I cannot bless you with millions if I choose to? He weighed it on me He surely didn’t need a lottery ticket!
    I understand I am a work in progress. If I can’t manage the small how can He trust me with the big stuff?
    My job is to be in constant worship and prayer about my heart and life. I’m grateful fir those “big reveals” while it was difficult at first to walk away I know I’m growing.
    Father thank you for trusting me with the lil stuff so that I can serve you better in bigger ways. Thank you for loving me where I am..

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matthew 24:24
    “For false Messiahs and false prophets will appear; they will perform great miracles and wonders in order to deceive even God’s chosen people, if possible.”

    I need wisdom to know what the truth is.

    Lord, please help me to be wise. Please show me the truth.

Leave a Reply

