Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 328

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Welcome to Day 328 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Matthew 17; Matthew 18; Matthew 19 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Matthew 17:26, “Jesus said to him. 27 ‘…go to the lake and throw out your line. Take the first fish you catch; open its mouth and you will find a four-drachma coin. Take it and give it to them for my tax and yours.'”

Matthew 18:15, “If your brother or sister sins, go and point out their fault,

just between the two of you.

If they listen to you, you have won them over.”

Matthew 19:27, “Peter answered him, ‘We have left everything to follow you! What then will there be for us?'”

O bservation

God can provide for my needs any way he chooses…

A pplication

Seriously? Catch a fish with a coin in its mouth?

Ok, I get it… Peter was a fisherman and Jesus is trying to make a point.

Notice he didn’t use the “let down your nets for a miraculous catch” technique, that could be sold to pay the tax. No, catch ONE fish and it will have a coin in its mouth.

I’ve heard fish tales, but this one is a whopper!

Imagine being Peter… a man’s man. A fisherman by trade.

I bet he had never caught a fish with a coin in its mouth before…

Imagine Peter recounting this story to his buddies over dinner….

“No, seriously, he told me to go catch a fish and there would be a four drachma coin in its mouth. And there was!”

Riiiiight…

No, seriously! I’m not kidding you…

What a great story of provision.

He still used Peter’s skill, but taught him a very valuable lesson, too.

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you can and will provide for me in creative and unusual ways!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 328

  1. Matt. 18:20 for where two or three are gathered in my name there I am with them. 33) shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had on you? Matt.19:26 Jesus looked at them and said. With man this is impossible but with God all things are possible.
    I’m struggling with forgiveness of several people in my past. I understand this passage and am trying to apply it to me.
    Its sorta like placing a bandaid over a gaping wound. WRONG oops still open.
    I “get”it. I will continue to apply until it sticks. I wont give up as I understand its good for me too.
    I love the fish story. It says to me that if we just do as He asks He can do ANYTHING. Seriously money IN THE FIRST FISH YOU CATCH!??
    Point taken. Father thank you for guiding me gently thru the hard stuff in my heart.

  2. Mark Long on said:

    So many things in these readings, but the ones about divorce always sting. So many men, women and children are suffering from divorce.

    “I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another woman commits adultery.” (Matthew 19:9 NIV)

    Even though my wife and I have been married for 27 years, she was married and divorced before we met. We were not believers then, but came into a relationship with Christ later after our kids were born.

    Forgive us for our sins and thank you for your grace. Jesus, your grace is sufficient for me!

Leave a Reply

