Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 325

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Welcome to Day 325 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Matthew 8; Matthew 9; Matthew 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Matthew 8:34, “Then the entire town came out to meet Jesus, but

they begged him to go away and leave them alone.”

Matthew 9:18, “As Jesus was saying this, the leader of a synagogue came and knelt before him. ‘My daughter has just died,’ he said, ‘but you can bring her back to life again if you just come and lay your hand on her.'”

Matthew 10:19, “When they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, 20 for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.”

O bservation

It’s easy when reading Matthew to read it as though this is one long series of events happening moment by moment rather than events happening over time. Matthew records events over a three-year period.

A pplication

Matthew 10:2 states, “When they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, 20 for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.”

I wonder how that works… the Spirit of my Father speaking through me…

Is it specific to that circumstance? Do I have to be arrested in order for the Spirit of my Father to speak through me? Is that ongoing at all times? Or only certain circumstances that it turns on and off?

What does it look like to “walk in the Spirit?” Galatians 5.

Am I simply filled with the Spirit and it/he thereby just simply speaks through me? Do I have to consciously make the decision to walk in the Spirit or does it happen automatically?

These are the things I wonder about…

I do think there is a conscious decision that needs to be made. I know I choose my words. I choose how/where I walk, day in and day out.

I have a propensity to over-think things. Sometimes my ponderings get the best of me…

But I happen to think these are concepts worthy of pondering.

How am I going to teach others or model to others what it means or looks like to walk in the Spirit if I don’t know myself.

I certainly know what the “works of the flesh” look like (also Galatians 5). There is a long list that is quite the opposite of what it looks like to live according to the spirit.

Walking in the Spirit yields what is called the “fruit” of the Spirit. Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. The byproduct of living according to the Spirit or living a Spirit-filled life.

“The acts of the flesh are obvious…” (Galatians 5:19-21). “Sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.”

OK, that’s pretty clear. I know if I don’t do those things, I am more likely to be walking in the Spirit…

But what about my words as Jesus talked about?

Ephesians 4:29, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

Notice that sandwiched between the exhortation to build one another up and getting rid of anger, etc, there is a simple phrase, “do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God.”

When we tear others down, or walk in anger we grieve God’s heart.

So, by not tearing others down or allowing unwholesome talk come out of my mouth, I am increasing my odds that it actually is the Spirit speaking through me.

I certainly know when it’s not the Spirit speaking through me.

And so do you.

P rayer

Lord give me words that would build others up! Help me to walk in the Spirit…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 325

  1. MT 8:27 the men were amazed and asked what kind of man is this? That even the wind and the sea obey him. 10:31 so dont be afraid you are worth more than many sparrows.

    I use this scene a lot in my life. The boat scene. Imagine our Savior sleeping in our boat and our ship is about to crash and we run below to “wake him up” to TELL him what’s going on. That’s why he says 10:26 “why are you so afraid.” Many of us leave our King asleep in our boat until some crisis shakes us awake. Some of us were fortunate enough to have Jesus on board their whole life (through believing family ). Its not that God wasn’t there its just WE left Him in another part of our trip here.
    My boat looks different now and while there are still storms at times, I know He’s right beside me. That carries me.
    I found a little sparrow on the sidewalk at a busy strip mall a few weeks ago.
    I wondered how many passed by and just didn’t do anything since he was already dead.
    I thought if the above verse and the value my King placed on me and that He knew and saw this little sparrow fall.
    I gently wrapped him in a cloth and placed him in the trash. And said a prayer for Him and thanked God for reminding me of His Word.
    Father thank you for the lessons that help keep my heart right.

Leave a Reply

