Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 322

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Welcome to Day 322 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Psalm 124; 2 Corinthians 11; 2 Corinthians 12; 2 Corinthians 13 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Psalm 124:8, “Our help is in the name of the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.”

2 Corinthians 11:30, “If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.”

2 Corinthians 12:9, “He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

2 Corinthians 13:14, “May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.”

O bservation

In what do I delight?

A pplication

Weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, difficulties?

Can’t really say that I “delight” in those things.

Can you?

Am I alone in this?

I mean, I get what Paul is saying… and I guess he was looking at the bright side of life during those times… Actually, all kidding aside, he experienced the grace of God in those times.

And when you have Jesus speak directly to you saying, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

That could make a difference! That could give one confidence… strength… courage.

But that statement is true for all of us, isn’t it?

I guess the question is, IS his grace sufficient for me? He thinks it is. I have to come in line with that thinking and accept that his grace IS sufficient for me.

I know it is in my heart… and I have most certainly experienced his grace, and a lot of it!

I love that Paul ended his second letter to the Corinthians with, “May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.”

Grace.

Love.

Fellowship.

May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with us all!

That’s my prayer for each of us as we enter this holiday season!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your grace and love!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 322

  1. 2Corn. 12:9 my grace is sufficient for you fir my power is made perfect in weakness. 10) for when I am weak then I am strong. 13) finally brothers good by, aim for perfection, listen to my appeal, be of one mind, live in peace.

    I too have experienced a lot of grace in my life. While at times my financial situation creates feelings of failure and frustration I continue to stand on God’s promises and that they REALLY are also for me too!
    I too “aim for perfection ” while I miss all the time I’m still going to aim! As situations try to tear at the promises I’m standing on, I’m STILL standing. I know that the more things that come against me to try to defeat me also means that my breakthrough is that much closer.
    Father thank you for your Word that brings new grace and hope to me daily. Thank you for all you have given me. I am oh so rich..

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 124:8
    “Our help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.”

    Our help comes from the creator of the earth. This revelation came to me the other day and here the verse that sates it shows up. I love that. Praise God! The maker of the universe holds my life in his hands. I can take a deep breath and relax. 🙂

    2 Cor. 11:14
    “Well, no wonder! Even Satan can disguise himself to look like an angel of light!”

    Be on guard. Be prepared. I need to know the truth of the Bible so that I have armor when it comes time to fight a battle.

    Thank you, Father, that you are where my help comes from. Please fill me up with your Spirit so that I can discern the truth.

Leave a Reply

