Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 320

“Friday, November 16, 2012

Welcome to Day 320 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Corinthians 3; 2 Corinthians 4; 2 Corinthians 5; 2 Corinthians 6 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Corinthians 3:16, “Whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.”

2 Corinthians 4:18, “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

2 Corinthians 5:7, “For we live by faith, not by sight.”

2 Corinthians 6:2,

“Now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.”

16 “We are the temple of the living God.”

O bservation

There is a difference between not seeing due to a veil, and living by faith, not by sight.

A pplication

A veil doesn’t allow one to see. But one off whom the veil has been lifted, does not live by what they see. For what is seen is temporary.

What is unseen is eternal.

Paul talks a lot about hope, and not putting our hope in what we see.

While Paul was primarily speaking of the Jews who had a veil over their hearts, it’s true for all of us.

But I love this verse, “Whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.”

Anyone.

I know a few people who have a veil over their hearts and are unable to see… You know people like that too. They think you’re crazy for your faith, while they themselves may be drowning in their own futile thinking, directionless life and hopelessness.

I had one guy tell me this week that he loves Christmas. He love the rituals…

But he doesn’t believe in God. He’s angry, cynical and hurting…

He has a veil over his heart.

And I love this guy…

And he loves the work that we do. Putting feet to our faith. He showed up one time to our Food for Huber.

He often quotes me, and sites our work to others, who complain about what can’t be done.

I love this guy… I mean that. (I’m not being sarcastic.)

And he has a veil over his heart.

I know more than one person like this. You probably do too…

We are called to be salt and light. Jesus said it’s not the well who need a doctor, but the sick. He spent a great deal of his time with people who had veils over their hearts. He loved them right where they were.

(I know… here I go again…)

If we only spend our time with people who think and believe like us, who is going to help remove the veils from all the other people’s hearts?

I don’t feel pressure, but I do feel responsibility in regards to my friend. I’m not responsible for how he feels, but I may be the only tangible picture of Jesus he will ever see. (He doesn’t go to church…)

I almost typed, “obviously,” but I’m sure there are plenty of people who go to church who don’t believe in God. They may be seeking, or are just there because of their family or out of habit? It may even make them feel good… The music, the encouragement… the love in the atmosphere.

I can tell you the moment when the veil fell off me…

March 17, 1985 on a flight from New York to Ohio. I prayed a simple prayer, “God I don’t know you like my friend does, but I want to.”

My life was forever changed.

I never saw things the same again.

The veil was gone!

I once was lost, but now am found. Was blind…

but now I see.

P rayer

Lord, give us eyes to see!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 320

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    2 Cor. 3:17 “Where the Spirit of the Lord is present, there is freedom.”

    Praise God! Hallelujah! We are free! We are filled with the spirit and he brings us freedom. We ARE free!!

    2 Cor. 4 and 5 reminds us that we don’t need to be discouraged. We have freedom, we have courage. Oh, I love these verses! There is so much encouragement here.
    God is good. We have the Spirit. We are free!

    This week I felt the Lord say to me that worry is an insult to him. How can I worry about anything when the creator of the universe has my life in his hands. He told me that I am as light as a feather. Because I know who is in control, and it isn’t me.

Leave a Reply

