Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 318

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Welcome to Day 318 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Psalms 149; 1 Corinthians 15; 1 Corinthians 16 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Psalm 149:5, “Let his faithful people rejoice in this honor and sing for joy on their beds. 6 May the praise of God be in their mouths…”

1 Corinthians 15:13, “If there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised. 14 And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith.”

If…

16 “For if the dead are not raised, then Christ has not been raised either. 17 And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins.”

If…

1 Corinthians 16:13, “Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong. 14 Do everything in love.”

O bservation

Our faith hangs on the resurrection of Christ. Without that, it just doesn’t matter…

A pplication

One might ask, “So what?” to which I reply, “What??”

If Christ didn’t raise from the dead, then Jesus was just a good man who taught and did amazing things. It would have ended there.

But if Christ was raised back to life on the third day, then He is the Son of God… just as he claimed.

Even the Pharisees knew this would be bad… they posted extra guards at his grave beforehand to prevent his disciples from stealing his body and purporting that he had been raised from the dead.

After his resurrection he appeared to hundreds of people in a glorified bodily state. We just read in 1 Corinthians 15:3-8 that Jesus appeared to Peter, then the Twelve, then to a group of over 500 people… after the resurrection.

This one event, the resurrection, is critical to our faith.

It even sounds a little crazy as I’m writing this… But without this one event, Christ would still be in the grave, like everyone else. But He conquered death, giving us hope of the save resurrection on that Day.

Living hope…

P rayer

You conquered death and the grave!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 318

  1. But someone will ask, “How are the dead raised? With what kind of body will they come?”

    I don’t want to ask how. I couldn’t comprehend it the specific details. I just know that all things are possible with God.

    Thank you for raising your son from the dead for us.

  2. 1Corn. 15:58 therefore my dear brothers stand firm let nothing move you. 16:13-14be on your guard, stand firm in the faith, be men of courage; be strong. Do everything in love.

    Its hard when at times you feel life is throwing punches at you and you “can’t seem to get a break.” I personally wont speak things like that over my life as I have learned that words are power. But I have felt punched. But I reach for My King, My Comforter My Friend and stand on what He promised for me. Its my fuel and while I am always “in progress” I know He’s by my side. I don’t have to be afraid.

Leave a Reply

