Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 317

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Welcome to Day 317 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 39; Job 40; 1 Corinthians 13; 1 Corinthians 14 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 39

God speaking to Job using the mountain goat, wild ox, donkey, ostrich, stork, horse, locust and hawk as examples of God’s wisdom and creativity.

Job 40:4, “I am unworthy—how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth. 5 I spoke once, but I have no answer—twice, but I will say no more.”

1 Corinthians 13

Before moving on to 1 Corinthians 13, I think it’s worth mentioning that in 1 Corinthians 12:29 this rhetorical question is raised by Paul… “29 Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles? 30 Do all have gifts of healing? Do all speak in tongues? Do all interpret?”

The correct answer is, “No.” We all have different gifts.

1 Corinthians 14:18, “I [Paul] thank God that I speak in tongues more than all of you. 19 But in the church I would rather speak five intelligible words to instruct others than ten thousand words in a tongue. 20 Brothers and sisters…

Stop thinking like children.”

39 “My brothers and sisters, be eager to prophesy, and

Do not forbid speaking in tongues.

40 But everything should be done in a fitting and orderly way.”

O bservation

Speaking in tongues is always a hot topic…

A pplication

Some denominations go as far as to say that if you don’t speak in tongues, your salvation may be in question… (See 1 Corinthians 12:29 above…)

Pop star Katy Perry claims to speak in tongues. She told Rolling Stone magazine that speaking in tongues is as normal as “pass the salt.”

Yet some Christians claim that speaking in tongues is “of the devil.”

Sorry, I think that is a scary, thoughtless, even foolish statement. One who makes such claims is dangerously close to blaspheming the Holy Spirit. (Attributing the works of God to the devil.) Jesus spoke directly to this in Mark 3.

People who discount spiritual gifts may site several passages that could lead one to believe  that spiritual gifts ceased with the Apostles of the early church.

So… there are no Apostles today?

People no longer get healed?

The church today no longer needs all the same spiritual gifts as the early church?

I don’t often venture into controversial topics. I typically leave that to people who are smarter, more educated and don’t mind confrontation.

Christians can be really mean people…

Especially when they disagree.

I am one who believes we can walk hand in hand without seeing eye to eye.

Not everyone is on board with me on that.

I am convinced some people just love to stir the pot. They think they are right and can quote chapter and verse to prove their point.

I can do that, too. I just choose not to. It’s unproductive.

So why did I venture into this territory today? Well, in short, it’s what jumped out at me in yesterday’s and today’s readings.

Some say that tongues is of the devil. Others say if you don’t speak in tongues, you’re not saved…

I believe firmly that the truth is, neither of those statements are accurate.

Salvation is based solely on Christ. Tongues may be one attribute of a believer, but it is certainly not the only mark of a believer. There are may fruits of the Spirit. You know the list, love, joy, peace, patience… etc… All are marks of a believer. And I still think that the church today needs ALL the same tools to extend the Kingdom as the early church.

Many Christians have been taught, by really smart, highly educated people, that spiritual gifts ended with the death of the last Apostle. They are commonly called “cessation-ists” exerting that the miraculous gifts have “ceased.”

We will no longer need spiritual gifts once we have seen him face to face… 1 Corinthians 13:8-12.

Until then…

P rayer

Lord, I want all that you have for me…

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 317

  1. Job 40:6 then the Lord spoke to Job out of the storm. “Brace yourself like a man, I will question you and you shall answer me. 1corn.13:7 it always protects, always trusts, always hopes always perseveres. 8) love never fails. 1 corn. 14:33 for God is not a God of disorder but of peace.
    I love how God spoke to Job “out of the storm.” Even though I know how Job ends I found myself wanting to jump ahead. Would be hard not to be afraid if God said those words “brace yourself like a man” and ” I will question you and you SHALL answer me.”
    Who of us doesn’t love reading 1 Corn. 13? If we don’t have love, we have nothing.
    Father, thank you for the most important gift of all. Your love for us. 13:7 it always protects, always trusts always hopes always perseveres.

  2. Mark Long on said:

    I gotta think that Scott is one of the few that could get away with using the Rolling Stones logo in a devotion blog! Love it!

  3. Today’s lesson for me… it doesn’t matter if I pray in tongues or perform great signs and miracles if I do it for my own benefit. Jesus often told those he healed to be quiet and not let others know it was him. Certainly He deserves credit, but I think he was modelling for us how we should handle such things. We never want to take the credit ourselves. We should pray for others for their benefit, not ours.

    Lord, thank you for the things you do. Help me keep them in the proper perspective.

Leave a Reply

