Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 312

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Welcome to Day 312 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 33; 1 Corinthians 1; 1 Corinthians 2; 1 Corinthians 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 33:31, “Pay attention, Job, and listen to me; be silent, and I will speak. 32 If you have anything to say, answer me; speak up, for I want you to be cleared. 33 But if not, then listen to me; be silent, and I will teach you wisdom.”

1 Corinthians 1:

7 “You do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.”

18 “The message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”

1 Corinthians 2:3, “I came to youin weakness and fear, and with much trembling.”

16, “We have the mind of Christ.”

1 Corinthians 3:4, “One says, “I follow Paul,” and another, “I follow Apollos,” are you not mere men? 5 What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. 6 I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. 7 So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow.”


O bservation

Paul refers to himself as nothing, but builds others up… “You do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.”

A pplication

“You do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.”

“We have the mind of Christ.”

Two amazing statements in scripture about us, wouldn’t you say?

Repeat after me, “I do not lack any spiritual gift.” “I have the mind of Christ.”

Again, “I do not lack any spiritual gift.” “I have the mind of Christ.”

Once more, “I do not lack any spiritual gift.” “I have the mind of Christ.”

I think at times my mind is like having two operating systems. I am a Mac guy, always have been since the late 80’s. (The first time I sat in front of a Mac (Apple) was in 1982.)

But sometimes you need Microsoft Office. (Word/Excel). They make Office for Mac… or you can run two operating systems off the same computer… But it’s problematic.

Not to get too technical…

But it’s like the old nature and the new nature. I have the mind of Christ, but at times, there is another operating system fighting for control of my heart, mind and life. That old sinful nature. The old man, being renewed…

Even declaring the verse, “I have the mind of Christ.” sounds almost… well… not true. I mean, I believe I do… and yet I know what goes through my mind sometimes. Unkind or unclean, impure, selfish thoughts.

But thoughts are just thoughts. (Unless of course we are dwelling on them.) Not acting on those thoughts obviously is the preferred outcome. Like Paul wrote, “I take every thought captive to make it obedient.” 2 Corinthians 10:5, and, “I discipline [strike a blow, beat my body] into submission.” 1 Corinthians 9:27.

All I am really saying is that the TRUTH is that I do not lack any spiritual gift as I eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.” and, I have the mind of Christ.

So do you!

(Assuming you have given your life to Christ. : -)

P rayer

Thank you Lord for that truth

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 312

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Job 33:14
    “Although God speaks again and again, no one pays attention to what he says.”

    Do I pay attention? Am I quiet enough? Do I take the time? Am I patient enough, aware enough?

    Lord, slow me down. I want to quiet myself so that I can hear you. Help me to remember what is important…you. I want more of you and less of me in my life. Help me to pay attention. To be alert to your Spirit, your voice, your ways. I want to hear your voice.

  2. I love that, “God does speak… though man does not perceive it.”
    I need to be tuned in!

    Pay attention? Be quiet? Take time? Be patient?

    Sheesh… 😉

  3. 1Corn. 1:9 God who has called you into fellowship with His Son Jesus Christ our Lord is faithful. 27) but God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise 28) he chose the lowly things if this world and the despised things and the things that are not to nullify the things that we are 29) so that no one may boast before Him.
    Wow. A lot said there! The first most important being HE CHOSE US! You and me. Doesn’t matter what’s been or what happened He wants a RELATIONSHIP with each of us. How cool is THAT? the same God who created the world wants time with us.
    Father help me to be in continual relationship with you daily. Thank you for your perfect love!

Leave a Reply

