Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 310

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Welcome to Day 310 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 30; Psalms 120; Galatians 3; Galatians 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 30:9, “And now their sons mock me in song; I have become a byword among them. 10 They detest me and keep their distance; they do not hesitate to spit in my face.”

16 “And now my life ebbs away; days of suffering grip me. 17 Night pierces my bones; my gnawing pains never rest.”

Psalm 120:1, “I call on the Lord in my distress, and he answers me. 2 Save me, O Lord, from lying lips and from deceitful tongues.”

Galatians 3:2, “Did you receive the Spirit by observing the law, or by believing what you heard? 3 Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort?”

11 “Clearly no one is justified before God by the law…”

28 “There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

Galatians 4:4 “God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under law, 5 to redeem those under law, that we might receive the full rights of sons. 6 Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba, Father.” 7 So

you are no longer a slave, but a son;

and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir.”

O bservation

I am no longer a slave, but a son!

A pplication

I have been working on this one particular aspect of my Christianity and life this past year. Longer, actually, but specifically and intentionally this past year.

I realized a while back, I am a good slave.

I am not so good at being a son.

Not speaking of my being a son, son, so much, but as a spiritual son in Christ and the ramifications of that truth.

It impacts how I think, how I live, how I serve, how I speak, how I teach. How I process my relationship with God and with others…

Even how I blog.

A slave blogs because he has to.

A son blogs because he keeps his commitments… to honor his father… does so in freedom not out of obligation. Has the opportunity to touch many lives and make a difference.

A slave just gets it done… It’s his job.

I remind myself on a regular basis, “I am a son, not a slave.”

(I could blog about this one particular topic for days…)

Reminding myself that I walk in freedom because of what Christ has done. Not because of anything I do. I choose to be a slave to righteousness and the Spirit, not a slave to sin, to the Law.

I walk in freedom with all the blessing and benefits of a son from the Father. I am an heir.

A co-heir with Christ!

(When you get that into your head, the challenge is to not become arrogant or spiritually elitist!)

When you realize you carry the Presence of God himself… you begin to realize you change the atmosphere around you. That people are noticing that, not you. When you realize you are a son, you don’t allow others to make you feel “less than.” You are less likely to take on their issues or to be swayed by their opinions.

A son.

A co-heir with Christ.

How cool is that!

P rayer

Thank you Lord that I am yours… I am forever yours!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

