Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 308

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Welcome to Day 308 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 26; Job 27; Mark 15; Mark 16 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 26:1, “Job replied, ‘How you have helped the powerless! How you have saved the arm that is feeble! 3 What advice you have offered to one without wisdom! And what great insight you have displayed!'”

(Wow… little bit o’ sarcasm there, Job??)

Job 27:2, “As surely as God lives, who has denied me justice, the Almighty, who has made my life bitter, 3 as long as I have life within me, the breath of God in my nostrils, 4 my lips will not say anything wicked, and my tongue will not utter lies. 5 I will never admit you are in the right; till I die, I will not deny my integrity. 6 I will maintain my innocence and never let go of it; my conscience will not reproach me as long as I live.”

Mark 15:25, “It was nine in the morning when they crucified him. 26 The written notice of the charge against him read:

The King of the Jews.”

Mark 16:6, “‘Don’t be alarmed,’ he said. ‘You are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who was crucified. He has risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid him. 7 But go, tell his disciples and Peter, ‘He is going ahead of you into Galilee. There

you will see him, just as he told you.’”

O bservation

I love how definitive these two statements are: “The King of the Jews.” and, “You will see him, just as he told you.”

A pplication

Matthew 27:37 goes even a step further, reading, “Above his head they placed the written charge against him: THIS IS JESUS, THE KING OF THE JEWS.

But in John 19:21 there is a dispute that is recorded about the posting going above Jesus’ head on the cross, “The chief priests of the Jews protested to Pilate, “Do not write ‘The King of the Jews,’ but that this man claimed to be king of the Jews.” (Emphasis is mine.) 22 Pilate answered, ‘What I have written, I have written.'”

Another definitive statement, by the one who had him crucified. Even Pilate’s wife came to him privately and told him to have nothing to do with “that righteous man.” She had a disturbing dream about Jesus…

Josh McDowell coined the argument of “Lord, liar or lunatic” as it pertains to Jesus.

Either he was a crazed lunatic… which makes no sense as his teaching were sound, and cost him his life.

Or he was a liar, which makes even less sense that his lying cost him his life.

Either way, lunatic or liar, how does one explain the miracles he performed?

And what about raising from the dead, and the cover-up by the religious leaders, spreading a rumor that his disciples had stolen his body? Jesus was seen, literally, by dozens and dozens of people. Maybe even hundreds!

[x] LORD.

[  ] Liar.

[  ] Lunatic.

“This is Jesus, the King of the Jews.”

P rayer

Thank you that you ARE the LORD, the King of the Jews!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

