Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 306

Friday, November 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 306 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 23; Job 24; Mark 11; Mark 12 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Back to Job…

Job 23:8, “But if I go to the east, he is not there; if I go to the west, I do not find him.9 When he is at work in the north, I do not see him; when he turns to the south, I catch no glimpse of him.10 But he knows the way that I take; when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold.11 My feet have closely followed his steps; I have kept to his way without turning aside.12 I have not departed from the commands of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.”

Job 24:25, “If this is not so, who can prove me false and reduce my words to nothing?”

Mark 11:22, “‘Have faith in God,’ Jesus answered.”

Mark 12:28, “One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?” 29 “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.30 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’31 The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’There is no commandment greater than these.”

O bservation

How easy it is to zone out while reading/listening to the scriptures… to begin glossing over passages I am more familiar with.

A pplication

I don’t know that we are on the final lap of our Life Journal journey, but we are certainly nearing the end! Less than two months remain!

This has been a transformational journey for me personally. I know I have a much broader base and understanding of the Bible than ever before. I know as I have given a message at church this year that what I have been reading has been resonating in my heart and spirit.

I have done much more study about each book along the way, in addition to simply reading the chapters, I have done an overview of each book, the author, the surrounding history, interpretive challenges, studied the outlines, etc…

It has been amazing!

And yet, when I went to today’s reading I thought, “Job. Again… G r e a t…”

I had a similar experience while plowing through parts of the Old Testament. But I still did it!

Have you ever driven to Florida from Ohio? A straight shot down I-75. A beautiful drive until you hit Atlanta. The trip from Atlanta to the Florida border is… well… drudgery! Hours and hours of… well, not much to look at.

That’s what comes to mind when I think about this journey though the Bible this year. Some parts have been beautiful and invigorating. Other parts have been like driving through south Georgia.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do in 2013. I know I’ll continue the reading portion, and maybe even doing my own journal… have considered doing a “copy and paste” from this year’s to next, and doing some sort of “addendum” as to new Observations made…

Not sure, but today’s observation was just that, my observation of how some days are easier than others… how one day’s reading is so powerful but the next may be flat… uninteresting and tedious.

But we are doing it. And I am still so thankful for those of you who have hung in there, too!

That we could all say, as Job, “My feet have closely followed his steps; I have kept to his way without turning aside.”

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your faithfulness!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 306

  1. David Biggs on said:

    Amen bro, thanks for being faithful to our Lord and this journey. God bless

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Scott-Your family is in my prayers during this time of celebration and travel.

    Mark 12:44 stood out to me today. The widow who gave all she had to live on.
    I need to be reminded that my giving should be a sacrifice, not just what I have to spare.

    Thank you, Lord, for all of my blessings. Show me how to bless others with what I have been given. Let my giving be a sacrifice. I am willing. Please speak to me so that I know how to give.

  3. Seems like such a “simple” request in Mark12:29 Love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your mind, all York strength. 31) Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no commandments greater than these.
    How is it that these two things get so complex? God has for sure taken a backseat in His own world. Its everywhere and “loving” your neighbor today sometimes includes a pistol. Many of you who post here know I had to apologize to my neighbor. So.. I just know I wanna get better at serving God. Looking back over the last 10 months I too have had some awesome revelations and at times I’m digging around trying to find one verse to hang onto. I’ve learned so much this trip and plan to continue my daily reading. In our busy world its hard sometimes to be consistent and focused. So thank you Scott for helping us here. Much appreciated. Have a fun and safe trip.

Leave a Reply

