Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 305

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Welcome to Day 305 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Psalms 121; Mark 9; Mark 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Psalm 121

Insert entire Psalm 121 here!

Mark 9:2, “After six days Jesus took Peter, James and John with him and led them up a high mountain, where they were all alone. There he was transfigured before them. 3 His clothes became dazzling white, whiter than anyone in the world could bleach them. 4 And there appeared before them Elijah and Moses, who were talking with Jesus.”

21, “Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?” “From childhood,” he answered. 22 “It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.” 23 ‘If you can?’ said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.”24 Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

Mark 10:28. “Then Peter spoke up, ‘We have left everything to follow you!'”

O bservation

“The Lord… will…”

A pplication

I was struck by the phrase “The Lord will…” and, “he will…” in Psalm 121.

“The Lord will keep you from all harm. The Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.”

I am writing this from a cabin in Estes Park, Colorado. After a long day of travel, flying to Denver, then driving a couple of hours to Estes Park for our daughter’s wedding this Sunday.

“I lift my eyes to the mountains…” 🙂

Yesterday was a  l o n g  day. Breakfast, lunch and dinner with different family members, all just arriving for the wedding, too. (And one missing wedding veil crisis!)

Was thinking about that phrase, “the Lord will.” Wondering how that really works… “The Lord will watch over you…” But what if I take my eyes off the road while driving through the mountains? Will he watch as I drive off the road? Will he prevent an accident? Will he keep me from dying if I’m in an accident? (What if I’m not wearing my seat belt?)

Just wondering…

Do you ever wonder such things? I mean, people die in car crashes every day?

Was God not watching over them? Or is it just natural consequences…

Doesn’t really matter, because the promise is He is watching over me.

I know what that’s like… I watch over my kids, and I can’t prevent them from heading down whatever path they choose.

Maybe I think too much about any one particular part of a verse… but I still like to ponder how things work with God. It’s easy to think he will rescue us from every mishap in life.

Maybe that’s true more than we will ever know?

But I still wonder about the car crash scenario… Angels vs. Seat belts. Protection vs. Good fortune? Luck vs. fate? And what about people who die at the hands of a drunk driver?

Simply a tragic accident? Or were there days just… up?

“The Lord watches over you…”

P rayer

Lord, I think You that I don’t have to have all this figured out… I can just rest in the fact that you are watching over me. However that works!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

