Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 299

Friday, October 26, 2012

Welcome to Day 299 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 17; Acts 24; Acts 25; Acts 26 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 17:1, “My spirit is broken, my days are cut short, the grave awaits me. 2 Surely mockers surround me; my eyes must dwell on their hostility.”

Acts 24:27, “When two years had passed, Felix was succeeded by Porcius Festus, but because Felix wanted to grant a favour to the Jews, he left Paul in prison.”

Acts 25:12, “After Festus had conferred with his council, he declared: ‘You have appealed to Caesar. To Caesar you will go!’”

Acts 26 Paul gives his testimony again, this time in front of King Agrippa.

24, “At this point Festus interrupted Paul’s defence. ‘You are out of your mind, Paul!’ he shouted. ‘Your great learning is driving you insane.’ 25 ‘I am not insane, most excellent Festus,’ Paul replied. ‘What I am saying is true and reasonable. 26 The king is familiar with these things, and I can speak freely to him. I am convinced that none of this has escaped his notice, because it was not done in a corner. 27 King Agrippa, do you believe the prophets? I know you do.’

28 Then Agrippa said to Paul, ‘Do you think that in such a short time you can persuade me to be a Christian?’”

O bservation

What a great question…

A pplication

I wonder how persuasive I am when I present the Gospel?

The Gospel, which means, “good news” is not primarily a “feel-good” message. It is a message of good news about the forgiveness of our sins, but there is a standard to which we are all then called. A calling to love and bless those who despise us. To live a life of generosity. A life of righteous, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit (Romans 14.)

We are called to say no to the “works of the flesh” and to “walk in the Spirit.” See Galatians 5.

I wonder what people see when they see me? What they think when they hear what I have to say about the Gospel, about my being a Christian…

I have been praying of late that I would be invited into situations to share the Gospel, as was Peter, when summoned by Cornelius, when they angel told him to send for Peter.

I just think that is so cool.

“Hey, Scott… an angel appeared to our friend. The angel said we should get you to talk to us.”

How cool would THAT be? I have experienced things close to that a few times. And I’ve gone places and done things I never thought I would. (Africa, England, Ukraine, etc.).

I love the Gospel message. I love presenting it.

I love telling my story how I prayed a simple prayer on an airplane that changed my life. “Lord, I don’t know you the way my friend Tom does… but I want to.”

I wasn’t on the road to Damascus, but I was on a flight home from New York!

I have never been the same since.

P rayer

Lord, I pray for open doors to present the Gospel message!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 299

  1. Job 17:3 Give me O God the pledge you demand who else will put up security for me? Acts 26:17-18 I am sending you to them to turn them from darkness into light..
    No one else will fight FOR me or to the degree that God has or for the duration that He has! Thinking about how He has stayed with me and fought for me. Even that I don’t deserve it He continues to love me thru my struggles and comfort me. Father thank you for pursuing me and for your grace.

Leave a Reply

