Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 296

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Welcome to Day 296 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 13; Job 14; Acts 17; Acts 18 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 13:3, “But I desire to speak to the Almighty and to argue my case with God.4 You, however, smear me with lies;

you are worthless physicians, all of you!

5 If only you would be altogether silent! For you, that would be wisdom.”

(Ouch!)

15 “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him.”

Job 14:15, “You will call and I will answer you; you will long for the creature your hands have made. Surely then you will count my steps but not keep track of my sin.17 My offenses will be sealed up in a bag; you will cover over my sin.”

Acts 17:28, “‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.'”

(Paul quoting some of their own philosophers, a Cretan philosopher Epimenides and a Cilician Stoic philosopher Aratus.)

Acts 18:9, “One night the Lord spoke to Paul in a vision: ‘Do not be afraid; keep on speaking, do not be silent. 10 For I am with you, and no one is going to attack and harm you, because I have many people in this city.’ 11 So Paul stayed in Corinth for a year and a half, teaching them the word of God.”

O bservation

I love how God spoke to Paul in a vision in the night to encourage him in his work!

A pplication

The Lord has never appeared to me in a vision, but that doesn’t bother me…

I don’t need for him to show up to validate what I believe. Just as Paul wrote to Timothy, “I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day.”

I don’t need to raise the dead to feel validated as a believer or to prove whatever power I have or don’t have. Most people don’t have the Lord appear to them or raise the dead. Some do, and that’s great… all I’m saying is, Jesus himself said to Thomas, “You believe because you have seen, blessed are those who have NOT seen and yet believe.” John 20:29, after the resurrection when Jesus appeared to the disciples.

And I am not necessarily satisfied in my “having not seen” either…

I have seen more than enough though… I know people who know people who have raised the dead. I heard a woman speak one time who was dead FOUR DAYS and she was then raised from the dead. Mama Domitila

But I don’t need to hear her testimony to validate my belief in heaven or eternal life. Or a book written by a young boy who visited heaven “Heaven is Real.” to get others to believe what I have believed all along.

The scriptures are clear on all these matters already.

Some say, “The Bible says it. I believe it. And that settles it.

I say, “The Bible says it. That settles it. And I believe it.”

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your word that is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. Lord, I believe… help my unbelief. Mark 9:24

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 296

  1. Please, God, I have two requests;
    grant them so I’ll know I count with you:
    First, lay off the afflictions;
    the terror is too much for me.
    Second, address me directly so I can answer you,
    or let me speak and then you answer me.
    How many sins have been charged against me?
    Show me the list—how bad is it?
    Why do you stay hidden and silent?
    Why treat me like I’m your enemy?

    Less than two weeks away from the 24 hour worship, I’ve been hit with vertigo again. I’m lucky to be awake 8 hours a day when I should be taking care of last minute details. We had to cancel our band’s practice tonight for the event because of this and our leaders back being thrown out again. One of the other members is sick too. I had to turn down the opportunity to play on the worship team this weekend as well as another opportunity to drum for Jesus on Friday night.

    I’m not mad at God. I know that He is my only hope, although I’m certainly left saying “REALLY?!!! Is this not supposed to be what I am doing? Is Satan behind this? Is it a test of some sort? Have I sinned in some way that I haven’t asked forgiveness?” I really don’t know.

    I’ve been praying for God to heal my ear and my friends back. I’ve been praying over the event and the teams participating including ours. I pray with expectation that the mountains I ask to move in His name will move. I just don’t know when. I’m not giving up though.

    Jesus, I ask for healing in Your name. I am desperate for You. We’re coming back to the heart of worship, and it’s all about You Jesus.

Leave a Reply

