Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 292

Friday, October 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 292 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 5; Psalms 108; Acts 10; Acts 11 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 5:27, “We have examined this, and it is true. So hear it and apply it to yourself.”

Interesting, though… Eliphaz’s take on Job’s situation was wrong! God wasn’t correcting Job… He was validating his faith to make a point to Satan!

Psalm 108:4, “Great is your love, higher than the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the skies.”

Acts 10:33, “I [Cornelius the Centurion] sent for you [Peter] immediately, and it was good of you to come. Now we are all here in the presence of God to listen to everything the Lord has commanded you to tell us.”

Acts 11:2, “So when Peter went up to Jerusalem, the circumcised believers criticized him 3 and said, “You went into the house of uncircumcised men and ate with them.”

18 “When they heard this, they had no further objections and praised God, saying, ‘So then, God has granted even the Gentiles repentance unto life.'”

O bservation

Situations like Peter was invited into is what I live for…

A pplication

“Now we are all here in the presence of God to listen to everything the Lord has commanded you to tell us.”

Ok, Peter… er, Scott… the floor is yours. We are waiting…

I pray that an angel visits people around Dayton and says, “Send for Scott… A holy angel told us to have you come to his house so that we could hear what you have to say.”

I have been in similar circumstances… people are often curious about faith and are looking for someone they can trust to tell them about it.

Sometimes it comes in the form of “needling.” “Hey, Scott over here is a pastor… What are you doing here, hanging around us heathens??”

I’ll make a joke back to them to break the ice and let them know I can take it.

Something like, “I love heathens!”

At some point, I’ll usually say something like this… (There are a lot of Catholics/former Catholics in Dayton…) “I almost converted to Catholicism just for the fish fries!” (That almost always gets a big laugh. If you’ve been to a fish fry, you know why!)

But then, they will start telling me their personal stories of how they grew up in church, used to teach Sunday school, or how they were hurt in church… Usually in a one-on-one situation…

People are people.

I am now operating under a new set of assumptions…

That people, deep down, want what we have.

I am happy. A fun guy. I live a purposeful life. I care for people. I love what I do. I have been happily married for 26 years…

There are a lot of people out there who can’t say much of that…

When you can strip away all the religious facade and just be a normal person who is a Christian and can still relate to those who aren’t… People will open up to you.

Trust me on this…

This is the world I live in, outside the Vineyard.

Even many people who attend our church are still searching.

Billy Graham said it best, “Evangelism is one beggar showing another beggar where the bread is.”

Be a normal person, generous, full of the Spirit and the love of God, not judgmental, always ready to give a reason for the hope that you have… with gentleness and respect…

And God will use you…

And people will listen.

P rayer

Lord, I will go anywhere you want me to go to share the faith that I have. Anywhere.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 292

  1. Job 5:17 blesses is the man(woman) that God corrects so do not despise the discipline of the Almighty. Psm108:13 with God we will gain the victory and he will trample down our enemies. Acts 10:26 but Peter made him get up, “stand up I am only a man myself.” 34) I realize how true it is that God does not show favoritism but accepts man from every nation who fear him and do what is right.
    I was “corrected” by God the other day. And it involved my neighbor who lied to me and I was angry about the situation. On sat. It felt wrong for me to come and sing praises to Him while I was harboring all this anger.. so I wrote her an apology note and went to church. The Holy Spirit continued to tug at me that it was “easy” to write a letter of apology but it would be even better if I marched my Fanny upstairs and said it to her face. Aw geesch REALLY. HUH? ok. With each step a lump formed in my throat and I kept saying don’t cry. Its ok. When she opened the door she began to defend herself and I said wait it doesn’t matter I was wrong and I’m sorry. Very powerful stuff. Yes. I cried but I waited till I got back downstairs and shut the door. I thanked God for correction that He loves me enough to show me when I’m wrong. And gave me courage to correct ME. Father thank you for your love.

  2. Cammie jones on said:

    Thank you for your words! It is very true, God will use one if one is open and strong or weak in faith! I can no longer work, however people came to my office daily when I was still able to share and we would have our “God” moments! How much a blessing it was to have worked for a Christian institution where we could openly speak and praise the Heavenly Father! I love the way God has designed things. People would thank me for listening and speaking about the hope in the Lord. Yet it was I who was receiving the blessings and healing for things I didnt even realize I needed to work on. I am definitely being tested! I have always prayed to be like Job and not sin with my lips. Well I guess I should have been more specific because I received many afflictions as well, but as Job I feel we cannot expect only blessings and I will praise his name as long as I can speak and go as long as I can walk. I have a feeling that if I lose my eyesight which has been happening rapidly, that I will continue to see the needs of others! Praise be to God!

  3. I have to keep reminding myself to NOT be like Job’s friends, offering up advice when I should be listening, helping, and/or praying. Quite often, people don’t want advice, they want to vent and possibly simple reassurance. It may be a plea for help. It might be an invitation to pray. Telling someone, “Here’s what I would do…” is the same thing as saying “You aren’t doing this right.” It’s hard to do when you are a “fixer” like me.

    Lord give me the resolve to be supportive and not condemning.

Leave a Reply

