Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 290

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Welcome to Day 290 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Job 1; Job 2; Acts 6; Acts 7 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Job 1:8, “Then the Lord said to Satan, ‘Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.'”

Job 2:3b

‘And he still maintains his integrity,

though you incited me against him to ruin him without any reason.’ 4 ‘Skin for skin!’ Satan replied. ‘A man will give all he has for his own life. 5 But stretch out your hand and strike his flesh and bones, and he will surely curse you to your face.”

Acts 6:5, “They chose Stephen, a man full of faith and of the Holy Spirit…”

Acts 7:57, “They all rushed at him, 58 dragged him out of the city and began to stone him.”

O bservation

Notice the descriptions of Job and Stephen…

Job, is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.

Stephen, a man full of faith and of the Holy Spirit

A pplication

All I can say is wow…

I don’t know why things like that hit me the way they do. I just think it’s so awesome when a person has something so amazing recorded about them in the Bible. It’s so seldom that a person doesn’t fall into some crazy sin… (There’s still time for Job… But Stephen will forever be remembered as a man full of wisdom and the Holy Spirit.)

I could go off on how I love that God knows my name… right up to the point where he brings my name up to Satan himself! Seriously?

“Hey… Satan… Do you see my servant Scott there?”

Not crazy about that…

P rayer

Lord, I would just as soon have you not mention my name to Satan if that’s ok with you… 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 290

  1. Job 1,2;
    11 When Job’s three friends, Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite, heard about all the troubles that had come upon him, they set out from their homes and met together by agreement to go and sympathize with him and comfort him. 12 When they saw him from a distance, they could hardly recognize him; they began to weep aloud, and they tore their robes and sprinkled dust on their heads. 13 Then they sat on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights. No one said a word to him, because they saw how great his suffering was.

    I know we’ll find out in a moment that these guys are off base, but these are really, really, devoted friends. Name any one of your friends today that would weep aloud and sit with you for a week, and not say a word! Are we this kind of friend? Or do we do pretty good and then open up our mouth and ruin it all? This really is an excellent place to stop today’s reading, since it allows us to focus on these friends without immediately finding out what happens next. These guys care for Job so much they set out to sympathize and comfort him. This really is the essence of small groups in the church and what we should strive to be to our friends/brothers/sisters in Christ. And just like these guys, sometimes we’ll get it wrong, but hopefully the fact that we cared enough to show up will win the day. Most importantly, before you attempt to speak into someone’s life, pray that God will give you the words to comfort, heal, strengthen, etc.

  2. Job scraped his skin with a piece of broken pottery as he sat among the ashes. His wife said to him, “Are you still trying to maintain your integrity? Curse God and die.”

    WOW! My wife has been know to give me some grief when I spend too much time fixing something that isn’t worth the time I’m putting into it. She is probably right. Some things become a mission that shouldn’t be. But to encourage him to “Curse God and die.”?!!! !!!!

    Was she being sarcastic there?

    As they stoned him, Stephen prayed, “Lord Jesus, receive my spirit.” He fell to his knees, shouting, “Lord, don’t charge them with this sin!” And with that, he died.

    I have trouble forgiving people when the treat me bad or say something bad about me. They were killing this man literally and he asked for their forgiveness. That is powerful.

    I hope she was being sarcastic…

    The application seems straightforward today… forgive. Second chances are good. I’m a little iffy on third chances. It’s not good to allow people to run all over us, but even though we shouldn’t give others continued access to hurt us, we need to forgive others in our hearts. We just do.

    Lord, I’m thankful for Your protection. Help me to forgive those that hurt me. I’m sorry for hurting others whether intentional or not. Help me to stick up for those who are being hurt or abused.

Leave a Reply

