Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 287

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Welcome to Day 287 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Nehemiah 11; Nehemiah 12; Psalm 1; Acts 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Nehemiah 11:1, “Now the leaders of the people settled in Jerusalem. The rest of the people cast lots to bring one out of every ten of them to live in Jerusalem, the holy city, while the remaining nine were to stay in their own towns. 2 The people commended all who volunteered to live in Jerusalem.”

Jerusalem, while now walled-in, still needed more inhabitants to care for and protect it. Chapter 11 gives the account of who returned to Jerusalem.

Nehemiah 12 is the dedication of the walls of Jerusalem…

Psalm 1 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible…

1 Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, 2 but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night. 3 That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither—whatever they do prospers.”

Acts 3:6, “Then Peter said, ‘Silver or gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.’ 7 Taking him by the right hand, he helped him up, and instantly the man’s feet and ankles became strong.”

12 “When Peter saw this, he said to them: ‘Fellow Israelites, why does this surprise you? Why do you stare at us as if by our own power or godliness we had made this man walk?'”

O bservation

Delighting in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night has its benefits!

A pplication

Blessed is the one… whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night. ”

“That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither—

whatever they do prospers.”

I don’t know about you, but that’s what I want! To be a fruitful tree whose leaves do not wither… and…

“whatever they do prospers.”

That a great promise… But it’s conditional upon the first part of that passage…

One who does not…

1. Walk in step with the wicked or

2. Stand in the way that sinners take or

3. Sit in the company of mockers but

4. Who delight is in the law of the Lord, and

5. Who meditates on his law day and night.

Whew…

That sounded much easier before I broke it down into separate thoughts… Some don’ts and dos there…

Funny how we all want the blessings, the fruit, to prosper… but am I willing to pay the price?

I’d like to think I am, but if I score myself point by point…

Hmmm…

P rayer

Lord, I want to be that kind of person who does those things regularly…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 287

  1. Neh.12:4 and on that day they offered great sacrifices rejoicing because God had given them great joy. Acts 3:16 by faith in the name of Jesus this man whom you see and know was made strong. O) A)
    when Peter took the mans hand and said get up and walk he did it in faith and only in Jesus name. P) Father please walk with me today and let me be thankful in all things knowing that all things work together for good for those that love you. Thank you for my family (my own loved ones) and my church family and our leaders that I be an encouragement to everyone I meet today.

Leave a Reply

