Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 285

Friday, October 12, 2012

Welcome to Day 285 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Nehemiah 7; Nehemiah 8; Acts 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Nehemiah 7:2, “I put in charge of Jerusalem my brother Hanani, along with Hananiah the commander of the citadel, because

he was a man of integrity and feared God more than most people do.”

Nehemiah 8:1, “All the people came together as one in the square before the Water Gate.”

Acts 1:8, “You will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

O bservation

I love how Nehemiah qualified the man he put in charge as being “a man of integrity and feared God more than most people do.”

A pplication

I guess that would be a pretty good endorsement and perhaps even a good legacy…

I wonder how that would look on my tombstone?

“Here lies Scott Sliver

A man of integrity and feared God more than most people do.”

For some reason, that statement “more than most people do” just struck me as well… funny.

Wouldn’t it be a stronger statement to just read, “A man of integrity and feared God.”

(More than most people do.)

idk…

I imagine that being mumbled under someone’s breath as they are walking away… Know what I mean?

Although it’s not unlike what was said about Noah in Genesis 6:9, “Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked faithfully with God.”

I still like the statement concerning Noah much better.

How about this one in Acts 9:36, “In Joppa there was a disciple named Tabitha; she was always doing good and helping the poor.”

(More than most people do.) It’s not there, but it sure lessens the above statement.

Doesn’t really matter… not really important…

I just wonder from time to time what I will be remembered for.

I hope it’s for more than just my hair or my shoes… or my ability to pull Bible application out of just about any movie…

I hope to be remembered for my integrity… and fearing God…

(More than most people do.)

P rayer

Lord, help me to always look to you. To care more about what you think than the people around me.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 285

  1. Then all the people gathered as one man at the open space in front of the Water Gate.

    As they were gathered together with Him, He told them, “Do not leave Jerusalem. Wait for what the Father has promised.”

    Then they drew names and the name of Matthias was chosen. He became one with the eleven missionaries.

    What struck me today is the concept of gathering together. We were not meant to be alone or live out our faith alone. We will certainly have our differences but when we gather, we become one.

    The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” (Genesis 2:18 NIV)

    Even from the very beginning, God recognized our need for fellowship. There are just too many verses to list about gathering together. http://www.openbible.info/topics/gathering_together is a list for further review. The point is, we need to gather as a body of Christ. Not as this church or that church around town, but as THE body of Christ. We need to lay down denominationalism and our differences. If a house is divided against itself, that house cannot stand. (Mark 3:25 NIV)

    Lord, we keep our focus on You. Help us to get past our differences and concentrate on what binds us together… for it is in that name we all pray. Thank you Jesus.

Leave a Reply

