Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 280

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Welcome to Day 280 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ezra 7; Ezra 8; Luke 20 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Ezra 7:25, “And you, Ezra, in accordance with the wisdom of your God, which you possess, appoint magistrates and judges to administer justice to all the people of Trans-Euphrates—all who know the laws of your God. And you are to teach any who do not know them. 26 Whoever does not obey the law of your God and the law of the king must surely be punished by death, banishment, confiscation of property, or imprisonment.”

Ezra 8:35, “Then the exiles who had returned from captivity sacrificed burnt offerings to the God of Israel…”

Luke 20:17, “The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone… 18 Everyone who falls on that stone will be broken to pieces, but he on whom it falls will be crushed.”

O bservation

Break or be broken?

A pplication

Seems those are my (our) two choices. Break… or be broken.

One is my choice: Be broken.

The other option: Be crushed…

I can choose to fall on the “stone the builders rejected” or it will fall on me… and crush me?

The Gospel is simple and clear. Accept Christ, or not. Your choice…

I often see things like this in a chart format…

Accept Christ (I choose to fall on the stone the builders rejected, I am broken.)

Reject Christ (the stone falls on me and I am… crushed.)

Being broken is very different from being crushed…

I watched a documentary on the construction of Stonehenge in England. The stones we brought from miles away, each weighing TONS. The terrain was rough and occasionally they would have to dig out from under the stones to keep them moving… One man was crushed under the weight of the stone.

Not a pretty sight.

Of course, the scripture is metaphorical… not literal. But still, the two options are clear.

Break or be broken.

I’ve never broken a bone before, but my son’s friend did, when they were skateboarding. Compound fracture of the humorous. Ouch!

The imagery of broken vs. crushed hit me pretty hard this morning… not sure why. And I am not given to presenting the scriptures in a heavy way, but Jesus is facing the end of his life and ministry. He is presenting his accusers with a clear choice…

Break or be broken.

P rayer

Lord, may I alway be broken for you… you were broken for me…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 280

  1. He is not the God of the dead, but of the living, for to him all are alive.”

    “Beware of the teachers of the law. They like to walk around in flowing robes and love to be greeted with respect in the marketplaces and have the most important seats in the synagogues and the places of honor at banquets. (Luke 20:38, 46 NIV)

    I always try to internalize warnings against the Pharisees instead of simply looking down at them. These teachings are meant to be warnings to us. Glory always belongs to God. The back seats on the bus where always the best. That is where the coolest kids sat. The front seat was where those where punished sat. Even today, the troublemakers on my daughters bus have to sit up front where the driver can keep a close eye on them.

    When considering which candidate I vote for, I try to discern (not easy) if they are running simply to be in power or if they have a genuine concern for the people. Are they making good decisions, or doing what the special interests or the party who put them their are telling them to do. A friend had a prophetic word that I was going to be elected into office. It made me throw up in my mouth a little. I always said that I couldn’t get elected because I am not a good liar. I refuse to be a puppet to man, only God. God would have to stuff the ballet box. No empty promises here.

    There is a balance between walking in victory through Christ and walking around decorated. It should be obvious to everyone that we a children of God, not by what we wear or how we dress or where we sit or the grandness of our prayers… we should be know for kindness, generosity, humility… for loving others.

    You are not dead God. You are alive and in us. Thank you of the promise of eternal life through Jesus. I don’t know if You want me to be in office or not. I can’t see it myself, but You see and know all things.

Leave a Reply

