Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 279

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Welcome to Day 279 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Esther 9; Esther 10; Luke 19 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Esther 9:1, “On this day the enemies of the Jews had hoped to overpower them, but now the tables were turned and the Jews got the upper hand over those who hated them.” 12 “The king said to Queen Esther, ‘The Jews have killed and destroyed five hundred men and the ten sons of Haman in the citadel of Susa.’ 14 … and they hanged the ten sons of Haman.”

20 “Mordecai recorded these events, and he sent letters to all the Jews throughout the provinces of King Xerxes, near and far, 21 to have them celebrate annually the fourteenth and fifteenth days of the month of Adar 22 as the time when the Jews got relief from their enemies, and as the month when their sorrow was turned into joy and their mourning into a day of celebration. He wrote them to observe the days as days of feasting and joy and giving presents of food to one another

and gifts to the poor.”

Esther 10:2, “And all his [King Xerxes’] acts of power and might, together with a full account of the greatness of Mordecai to which the king had raised him, are they not written in the book of the annals of the kings of Media and Persia?”

Luke 19:37, “When he came near the place where the road goes down the Mount of Olives, the whole crowd of disciples began joyfully to praise God in loud voices for all the miracles they had seen: 38 ‘Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord!’ ‘Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!’ 39 Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, ‘Teacher, rebuke your disciples!’ 40 ‘I tell you,’ he replied, ‘if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.'”

44 (Because) “You did not recognize the time of God’s coming to you.”

 

O bservation

How easy it is to miss what God is doing.

Or…

How easy is it to miss what God is doing?

A pplication

One a statement, the other a question…

The religious leaders missed it, blinded by their own jealousy, ambition and pride.

Not all, but most. There were those like Nicodemus who recognized Jesus for who he was.

But more often than not, it was the ordinary people who got it. Not all, for sure. He was rejected by many, including at time, entire cities or regions.

But the point is, I don’t want to miss what God is doing… His “coming” to me… to us… to our church… to our city.

When we read a while back in Revelation, it repeated over and over, “Let him who has ears to hear, hear what the Spirit is saying.”

Matthew 13 speaks to this, quoting from Isaiah 6…

“He replied, “The knowledge of the secrets of the kingdom of heaven has been given to you, but not to them. 12 Whoever has will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him. 13 This is why I speak to them in parables:

“Though seeing, they do not see;
though hearing, they do not hear or understand.

14 In them is fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah:

“‘You will be ever hearing but never understanding;
you will be ever seeing but never perceiving.
15 For this people’s heart has become calloused;
they hardly hear with their ears,
and they have closed their eyes.
Otherwise they might see with their eyes,
hear with their ears,
understand with their hearts
and turn, and I would heal them.’

16 But blessed are your eyes because they see, and your ears because they hear. 17 For I tell you the truth, many prophets and righteous men longed to see what you see but did not see it, and to hear what you hear but did not hear it.”

P rayer

Lord, give me ears to hear and eyes to see… I don’t want to miss the day of your coming to me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 279

  1. I noticed 3 times in Esther 9 that when the Jews killed their enemies they did not ” lay their hands on the plunder.” Who of us wants to gain whether financially or any other way from the defeat of someone else. Its like the housing crisis. Hard to feel good about a great deal when you know someone else lost their home. In Luke 19:6 zaccaeus came down at once and welcomed him gladly. 10) for the Son of Man came to seek and save what was lost. 40) I tell you if they keep quiet the stones will cry out. Father let me be sensitive to others and welcome change knowing you are with me. Let me be found worthy in all areas. So on that day i can hear you say, job well done my good and faithful servant. Thank you Father.

  2. All the people saw this and began to mutter, “He has gone to be the guest of a sinner.” (Luke 19:7 NIV)

    This made me think of how many times we chalk people off. A common saying is that people don’t change. I tend to agree, but only if they try to change on their own. I know that I have changed a lot over the last few years. I also know that I still have a lot of changing to do. I’m a work in process.

    But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord, “Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.” (Luke 19:8 NIV)

    Zacchaeus clearly changed when The Lord called on him. All he had to do was climb the tree to seek out Jesus. I’m not sure what motivated him, but I tend to think it was that small voice inside convicting him of his wrongdoing.

    Lord, I want to seek You like Zacchaus did. I want to see you, to have you call to me. Show me where I lack faith.

Leave a Reply

