Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 278

Friday, October 5, 2012

Welcome to Day 278 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Esther 3; Esther 4; Esther 5; Esther 6; Esther 7; Esther 8; Luke 18 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Ester 3:5, “When Haman saw that Mordecai would not kneel down or pay him honor, he was enraged. 6 Yet having learned who Mordecai’s people were, he scorned the idea of killing only Mordecai. Instead Haman looked for a way to destroy all Mordecai’s people, the Jews…”

Ester 4:12, “When Esther’s words were reported to Mordecai, 13 he sent back this answer…”

14 [Mordecai to Esher] “Who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?”

Ester 5:3, “Then the king asked, “What is it, Queen Esther? What is your request? Even up to half the kingdom, it will be given you.” [She only asked initially for a banquet with her, the King and Haman only.]

13 [Haman] “But all this gives me no satisfaction as long as I see that Jew Mordecai sitting at the king’s gate.

Ester 6:6, “Now Haman thought to himself, ‘Who is there that the king would rather honor than me?'”

(Oops…)

Ester 7:3, “O king, and if it pleases your majesty, grant me my life—this is my petition. And spare my people—this is my request. 4 For I and my people have been sold for destruction and slaughter and annihilation.”

9 “A gallows seventy-five feet high stands by Haman’s house. He had it made for Mordecai, who spoke up to help the king.” The king said, “Hang him on it!” 10 So they hanged Haman on the gallows he had prepared for Mordecai.”

(Ouch…)

Ester 8:5, “If it pleases the king,” she said, ‘and if he regards me with favor and thinks it the right thing to do, and if he is pleased with me, let an order be written overruling the dispatches that Haman son of Hammedatha, the Agagite, devised and wrote to destroy the Jews in all the king’s provinces.'”

11 “The king’s edict granted the Jews in every city the right to assemble and protect themselves; to destroy, kill and annihilate any armed force of any nationality or province that might attack them and their women and children; and to plunder the property of their enemies.”

15 “Mordecai left the king’s presence wearing royal garments of blue and white, a large crown of gold and a purple robe of fine linen.”

Luke 18:40, “Jesus stopped and ordered the man to be brought to him. When he came near, Jesus asked him, 41 ‘What do you want me to do for you?’ ‘Lord, I want to see,’ he replied. 42 Jesus said to him, ‘Receive your sight; your faith has healed you.’ 43 Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus, praising God.”

O bservation

Esther didn’t ask the King to spare the lives of the Jews right up front. Her first request was for a banquet.

(Taking notes?) Seems she was warming him up a bit…

A pplication

What an amazing story of wisdom, faithfulness and (sovereign) redemption.

God used a woman, Esther, plucked from obscurity amongst a throng of women from the entire region, to save her people from annihilation.

Never underestimate what God may do through ordinary people.

Yes, there were those who were great throughout the Bible and history. Moses (raised in the home of Pharaoh), King David (a shepherd boy plucked from obscurity)…

The similarities between Esther and Mary are pretty stunning. Both were obscure, young girls who found favor… one with a King to save the Jews, the other with God and was chosen to give birth to the Messiah!

This is such a great story.

(Should be made into a Lifetime movie!)

How does this apply to my life? To our lives?

Again, never underestimate what God may do through ordinary people.

Through you…

Through me…

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you use ordinary people to do extraordinary things!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 278

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Esther is an exciting book to read. I would love to watch a movie where the verses are acted out. I want to read ahead, but I won’t. 🙂
    The relationship between Esther and Mordecai is full of support for one another. In chapter 14:12-14, I love where Mordecai says in verse 14…”Yet who knows-maybe it was for a time like this that you were made queen!”. Those words may have encouraged her to do what she needed to do. We have the ability to encourage one another and speak life (Prov. 18:21) in to them. What a gift! Esther was so courageous.

    Lord, thank you for the people in my life that have blessed me with their words. Thank you for people that you have sent to me throughout my life to encourage me. Please help me to be an encouragement to others. I want to speak life: your words, your hope, your love in to the lives of others. Let me be a blessing to others, I pray.

  2. Note to self: Never create my own pole to be impaled on.

    Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.”

    Too often, I put limits on God. Stop it!!! His greatness is for than I can possibly imagine.

    I’m sorry for putting limiting Your greatness in my mind. You are in control. Thank you for leading me.

Leave a Reply

