Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 275

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 275 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Zechariah 13; Zechariah 14; Psalms 147; Luke 15 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

I have read the passages… will post SOAP later today. Scott

Zechariah 13:7b, “Strike the shepherd, and the sheep will be scattered…”

Zechariah 14:12, “This is the plague with which the Lord will strike all the nations that fought against Jerusalem: Their flesh will rot while they are still standing on their feet, their eyes will rot in their sockets, and their tongues will rot in their mouths.”

Psalms 147:15, “He sends his command to the earth; his word runs swiftly.”

Luke 15, the lost sheep, lost coin and… the lost son…

18 “I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired men.”

As the son begins to recite his rehearsed speech to his father…

“The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.”

(Notice he didn’t get to finish??)

22 “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. 23 Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. 24 For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.”

O bservation

Once I got over the images of rotting flesh, eyes and tongue from Zechariah…

I took note that the son didn’t get to finish his speech… in Luke 15.

A pplication

I took note that the son didn’t get to finish his speech… the part about “I am no longer worthy to be called your son… make me like one of your hired men.”

That wasn’t gonna happen.

He was his son…

And the father made the point with his son by giving him a robe, a ring, sandals and then throwing him a party.

Amazing.

The truth is, he wasn’t worthy to be called his son… But it didn’t matter.

He was his son.

Nothing could ever change that.

Even after squandering his inheritance (wealth) on “wild living…”

Just let this sink in… I am his.

Period.

Nothing can ever change that…

I love, love, love the story of the Prodigal Son. But it should really be called the Prodigal Son’s FATHER. (I know that “lost coin, lost sheep, lost son” has a nice ring to it… but the story is about the father, not the son.

It’s all about how the father is looking… waiting for his son to return.

And how the older brother responds to his return…

I love how the father responds to his older son… “‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. 32 But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.'”

YOU are ALWAYS WITH ME… and, EVERYTHING I HAVE IS YOURS.

We have to celebrate!

I wish I could describe how this stirs me deep inside…

I think this is just amazing… “Everything I have is yours!”

And the younger brother is welcomed back into the same… covenant… agreement.

And the same applies to me.

And to you!

P rayer

Thank you Lord that I am yours. I am forever yours.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 275

  1. some observations… The King will reign. It’s good to praise and worship. Even though the Father divided the wealth between the two sons, one son didn’t access all that the Father had for him. He served dutifully, but didn’t access the Fathers love, provision, yet could have.

    Father help me recognize You reign now, enjoy the moment in praise, and help me lean into all you have for me and my friends.

  2. “On that day, I will banish the names of the idols from the land, and they will be remembered no more,” declares the Lord Almighty. “I will remove both the prophets and the spirit of impurity from the land.”

    Reading this might indicate that prophesy is bad or forbidden. Commentaries tend to agree that it is prophesy related to impure spirits, not true prophesy from God. It is certainly something to be taken seriously and dealt with carefully.

    “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it?

    Of course the lesson here is not to be judgmental since we are all sheep, none more important that the other. By looking down on “tax collectors and sinners”, the pharisees were placing a higher importance on themselves. How cool is it that I (all of us) are that important!

    Application – Don’t look down on others or gossip about them. Never elevate my own importance over others. Allow God to speak to me and listen carefully. It’s important to weigh all prophesy against scripture.

    Lord, Thank you for saving me and your watchful eye over my life.

  3. Zechariah 14 = zombie apocalypse; it’s just a matter of time 😉

Leave a Reply

