Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 272

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Welcome to Day 272 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Zechariah 4; Zechariah 5; Zechariah 6; Luke 12 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Zechariah 4, “So he said to me, ‘This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty.”

Zechariah 5

The sixth vision concerns a flying scroll. It teaches that the Lord who loves and restores His people is also righteous and will punish wickedness. This vision and the one to follow are warnings, but also encouragements that God will deal with the problem of sin in the land. RSB

Zechariah 6

Notice the parallel between Zechariah 6 and Revelation 6? (The imagery of the horses.) Not necessarily the same vision or event, just an observation.)

15 “This will happen if you diligently obey the Lord your God.”

Luke 12:15, “Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.”

32 “Do not be afraid… for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.”

O bservation

Some things only happen if we are obedient.

A pplication

One of my kids asked me one time, “If you didn’t marry mom, would I be here?”

That’s a pretty thought-provoking question, isn’t it?

I don’t think it’s a simple, “Yes” or “No” question and answer.

Perhaps they could be… the life God breathed into them, the spirit within, could be the same? Would they look the same? Would they be the same?

Probably not.

It’s funny how when you change the equation, even ever so slightly, that the outcome can change dramatically.

What if I had married someone other than Bonnie?

What if I had never moved to Cincinnati and met Doug?

What if we had only had two kids instead of four?

What if I had been caught with drugs in college?

What if, what if, what if…

What’s my point? How does it fit with today’s reading?

Even in my obedience, I’m pretty sure I have been obedient to my own good idea versus something that God had initiated and planned for me.

Or perhaps he gave me the idea in the first place?

I’m not given to pursuing deep thoughts like this very often. I’m not sure it’s productive… we can second-guess ourselves all day long.

Does God really care if I eat Frosted Flakes or Corn Pops? (Or should I only eat oat meal?)

Probably.

If that were the case, we should all be non-coffee-drinking-vegans without a television.

Probably.

Obedience is a funny thing… distinguishing God’s voice from my voice… being obedient to what I think he has told me to do can be a little tricky.

How about if we first become obedient to what is clearly spelled out in the Bible? Loving God, worshiping him. Loving my wife as Christ loves the church. Being responsible citizens, caring for our neighbors, displaying the fruit of the Spirit, avoiding the “works of the flesh.” (Both lists are mentioned in Galatians 5.)

I believe the rest will work itself out as we do that…

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” Psalm 119:105.

P rayer

Lord I trust that you are leading me… I don’t always know what it means to walk in the Spirit, but I know you are always with me, wherever I am walking…

But I want to walk where you want me to go…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 272

  1. Luke 12:30 for the pagan world runs after such things and your Father knows you need them. 32) but seek His kingdom and these things will be given to you as well. 32) do not be afraid little flock for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.
    Father I want to be a great steward over all you have given to me. I want to give as you have so graciously given to me. Thank you for all you are doing in my life..

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    I love Luke 12. It is full of reminders of who is in control and what is important. We are reassured that God is in control. We have no need to worry. He cares for the crows, the sparrows…surely he will care for us. We just have to remember to stay close to him. To be ready. Not to be concerned about riches, etc. There is such peace in knowing who God is, in trusting him, in living a submissive life.

    Thank you, Father, for your word. For the strength, peace, comfort and power that it gives me. Thank you for taking care of me. For providing my every need. I love you!

Leave a Reply

