Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 270

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 270 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Haggai 1; Haggai 2; Psalms 129; Luke 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Sixteen years has now passed since the “stop work” decree was issued. The time has now come to rebuild the temple…

Haggai 1:13, “Then Haggai, the Lord’s messenger, gave this message of the Lord to the people: ‘I am with you,’ declares the Lord.”

Haggai 2:9 ‘The glory of this present house will be greater than the glory of the former house,’ says the Lord Almighty. ‘And in this place I will grant peace,’ declares the Lord Almighty.”

21 “This is what the Lord Almighty says: ‘In a little while I will once more shake the heavens and the earth, the sea and the dry land. 7 I will shake all nations, and the desired of all nations will come, and I will fill this house with glory,’ says the Lord Almighty. 8

‘The silver is mine and the gold is mine,’ declares the Lord Almighty.

I will shake the heavens and the earth. 22 I will overturn royal thrones and shatter the power of the foreign kingdoms.”

Psalms 129:4, “But the Lord is righteous; he has cut me free from the cords of the wicked.”

Luke 10:36, “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?” 37 The expert in the law replied, ‘The one who had mercy on him.’ Jesus told him,

“Go and do likewise.”

O bservation

“Then Haggai, the Lord’s messenger, gave this message of the Lord to the people: ‘I am with you,’ declares the Lord.”

A pplication

“I am with you.”

They needed a prophet to tell them that?

Apparently so…

(I am so thankful that I don’t need a prophet to tell me that! Aren’t you??)

Although it is a nice reminder…

Jesus made the same statement to his disciples in Matthew 28 at the end of the Great Commission, “Surely (or “Lo”) I am with you… always…”

Always…

Period.

Hebrews 13:5 states, quoting Deuteronomy 31, “Never will I leave you. Never will I forsake you.” (God declared this to Joshua…)

I will often say, “I never have to wonder where he is… his promise is he will be with me.”

His name, Immanuel (or Emmanuel) literally means, “God with us.”

Psalm 23 ends with, “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life…”

Goodness… and mercy.

Which was the neighbor to the Samaritan? The one who had… mercy.

Goodness… and mercy.

God is good. His presence is good. He is good, and he is merciful.

I’ve heard it said,

“Mercy is not getting what we deserve.

Grace is getting what we don’t deserve.”

We deserve punishment, but He gives us grace. Grace, what we don’t deserve, is unmerited favor.

Favor.

“I am with you.”

I am so thankful!

P rayer

Lord, I thank you that you are with me, always! Period!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 270

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Haggai 1:2-11
    especially verse 9 “…why did I do that? Because my temple lies in ruins while every one of you is busy working on your own house.”

    Luke 10:38-42
    especially verse 41-42 ” Martha, Martha! You are worried and troubled over so many things, but just one is needed.”

    Lord, help me not to be distracted. You are the most important part of my life. Forgive me when I allow my “to do” list to squeeze you out. I love you and I want to show you my love. I want others to see you in me. Help me to make time for you. Please remind me of what matters most. Thank you for all that you are.

  2. A Message from God-of-the-Angel-Armies: “The people procrastinate. They say this isn’t the right time to rebuild my Temple, the Temple of God.” Shortly after that, God said more and Haggai spoke it: “How is it that it’s the ‘right time’ for you to live in your fine new homes while the Home, God’s Temple, is in ruins?”

    It’s easy to get sidetracked and discouraged when things don’t go well and rationalize as God’s will. In this case, they were saying that the timing wasn’t right. Why would it not be the right time to worship God? David had his share of enemies and obstacles, but he understood the need to establish worship. I noted yesterday that their first priority was building the temple, but they gave up when the going got rough.

    Application:
    “‘Yes, get to work! For I am with you.’ The God-of-the-Angel-Armies is speaking! ‘Put into action the word I covenanted with you when you left Egypt. I’m living and breathing among you right now. Don’t be timid. Don’t hold back.’

    Press on and press through. God is with us so expect supernatural intervention when it seems that we’ve hit a dead end. There are people and organizations in the world that will get in the way. I need to keep my eye on the ball. Finish the race! Don’t be afraid of what people might think. Go for it.

    “One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.”

    At the same time, don’t get too caught up in the work. Spend time at the feet of our master Jesus. It’s not just a good idea. It’s necessary.

    Jesus, we need more of you in our lives. Thank you for being available.

Leave a Reply

