Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 265

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 265 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Daniel 9; Daniel 10; Psalms 123; Luke 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Daniel 9:9, “The Lord our God is merciful and forgiving, even though we have rebelled against him; 10 we have not obeyed the Lord our God or kept the laws he gave us through his servants the prophets.”

18b “We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy.”

Daniel 10:12, “Then he continued, ‘Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them.'”

Psalm 123:1, “I lift up my eyes to you, to you whose throne is in heaven.”

Luke 5:10, (After the large catch of fish) “Jesus said to Simon, “Don’t be afraid; from now on you will catch men.” 11 So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.”

31 “Jesus answered them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. 32 I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”

O bservation

Every time I read a verse like Luke 5:31 I am again taken aback…

A pplication

God is for the lost and shows great mercy. I love that Jesus spent time with regular people. Tax collectors and sinners loved Jesus, because he loved them. Right where they were at. Unlike the Pharisees, Sadducees and Teachers of the Law… who were self-righteous and looked down on everyone around them. Luke 18:9 He told a parable of a Pharisee and tax collector… And who went home justified?

Even in Daniel 9 and throughout the Old Testament, God’s mercy is highly regarded.

I love how Daniel said, “We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy.”

Wow.

That is an amazing, healthy perspective. Amazing how the angel recognized Daniel’s humility!

We don’t have to walk around beating our chests, begging for God’s mercy… he has already given it to us! We are already forgiven!

We just need to walk in humility and to recognize God’s mercy along the way and thank him for it!

And to go a step further, to tell others of that great love and mercy and to show it to those around us… rather than looking down on those who need it most.

Amen.

P rayer

Lord, thank you for your great mercy. Help me to always show mercy, compassion, kindness and love to those around me. To never look down on those who don’t know you…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 265

  1. I avoid going to the doctor as much as possible. They always tell me what I need to change about my diet, etc. The bottom line is, that listening to and obeying instructions from a doctor leads to a healthier happier life. Listening and obeying Jesus does the same for our spiritual health. I suppose I should eat more veggies.

    I am thankful that the doctor here does not require insurance and has already paid the bill.

  2. Luke 5:11 so they pulled their boat up to the shore, left everything and followed him. Father, help me let go of my earthly troubles and follow you closer and closer.

Leave a Reply

