Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 260

Monday, September 17, 2012

Welcome to Day 260 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ezekiel 42; Ezekiel 43; Ezekiel 44; Revelation 22 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Thanks to Mark Long for posting this link that has an architectural depiction of the temple in Ezekiel’s vision! CLICK HERE to go to the web site.

Chapters 40-46 of Ezekiel could be outlined as “True worship returns in Israel.”

Ezekiel 42:14, “Once the priests enter the holy precincts, they are not to go into the outer court until they leave behind the garments in which they minister, for these are holy. They are to put on other clothes before they go near the places that are for the people.”

Ezekiel 43:4, “The glory of the Lord entered the temple…”

Ezekiel 44:23, “They are to teach my people the difference between the holy and the common and show them how to distinguish between the unclean and the clean.”

Revelation 22:12, “Behold, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to everyone according to what he has done. 13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.”

17 “The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let him who hears say, “Come!” Whoever is thirsty, let him come; and whoever wishes, let him take the free gift of the water of life.”

O bservation

After a terrible time of judgment upon the earth, a time of great peace… with a new heaven and a new earth. No more tears or crying or pain. God is with his people.

A pplication

I love this invitation… “The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let him who hears say, “Come!” Whoever is thirsty, let him come; and whoever wishes, let him take the free gift of the water of life.”

All are invited, “Whoever.”

An open invitation to the marriage supper of the Lamb.

But you must have a ticket. The price of admission is our life, surrendered to Him. “If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus, and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9.

There is no other way. No other Savior.

I once had a guy tell me he didn’t want to be saved, he just wanted “some religion.”

He’s in for a big surprise someday…

“The free gift of the water of life…” flowing from the throne on which Jesus (and/or) the Father sits.

I want to partake of this water. To drink from it. To be washed clean by it.

Jesus told the woman at the well in John 4 that if she knew with whom she was talking, she would ask him and he would give her “living water.”

Out of us, he said, would flow “rivers of living water.” John 7:38.

Are you thirsty? Come and drink.

Do you need forgiveness? To be washed clean? Come and be cleansed.

… and out of you will flow rivers of living water!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for this invitation, available to all!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 260

  1. I love this invitation too. Revelation 22:14, “Blessed are those who wash their robes that they may have the right to the tree of life, and may go through the gates into the city.” It feels good to know that Jesus is in control, that if I follow Him, He will never steer me wrong. I can let go of my need to control things and let Him do everything. What a peaceful thought. Thank you Jesus for your gift of grace and mercy.

  2. Marcia zecchini on said:

    Thanks Mark. I needed a visual.

  3. 12 “Look, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to each person according to what they have done.

    I’m often fixated on the idea of this verse. I want to please God and do good works on Earth to give him glory, such that my treasure will be stored in heaven. In terms of this verse, I feel like I’m not doing enough and that I can do more. So I find it hard to resolve this with myself, because I feel like I can always do more. When is more enough?

    So I constantly feel like I’m not doing enough. I know God loves me regardless, and that He is pleased with me, but I can’t help but feel I could do more to serve Him. I often compare myself to someone like Steve Bowen and think of what an awesome example he is and that I’ve got a long way to go. If you feel similarly, it’s also easy to run yourself into the ground trying to do “enough”.

    So ask yourself, “Am I doing anything?”. If the answer is yes, then you’re already way ahead and resolving “enough” is a trivial matter, at least that’s what I tell myself.

  4. This final chapter in Revelation made my mind wander back to my childhood. We had a large picture window in our family room with a view down State Rt. 722 to the east. When my Dad was coming home from work, I could see his truck appear up over the hill outside of town. I would sit backwards with my knees planted on the cushions, slumped over the back of the couch, watching and waiting anxiously. I remember the excitement I would feel every time I would see the top of a car begin to appear. There was a mild disappointment when it wasn’t his truck, but I knew it wouldn’t be long.

    I watched and waited so many times, that I became a pro at knowing when it was him by the sound of his exhaust and the sound his tires made. Even at night, I could pick out his headlights over others. There were a few times that I knew that I was going to get “a talking to” when he got home because of a something I had done. I dreaded “the talking to”, but I knew instinctively that it would be OK because he loved me.

    I can’t say that I am waiting with the same eager anticipation for Jesus to return. After reading about the tribulation, it’s more like anxious anticipation. That’s just being honest. I think we all fear radical change. Maybe I’m am dreading “the talking to” or afraid for friends who want nothing to do with Jesus or the church. I know that I want to be as good by reading the bible, praying, and worshiping in God’s presence to know if it is actually Jesus coming over the hill outside of town as I was at knowing my dads return home.

Leave a Reply

