Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 258

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Welcome to Day 258 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ezekiel 38; Ezekiel 39; Psalms 145; Revelation 20 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Before his description of the future city of God, the prophet first describes the defeat and removal of its foes. Gog, the prince of Magog, sums up the final opposition to the kingdom and people of God. God comes as a divine warrior, fighting for His people and visiting an apocalyptic defeat on His foes, preparing the way for the vision of the renewed city (chapters 40–48). RSB

Ezekiel 38:23, “And so I will show my greatness and my holiness, and I will make myself known in the sight of many nations. Then they will know that I am theLord.”

Ezekiel 39:27, “When I have brought them back from the nations and have gathered them from the countries of their enemies, I will show myself holy through them in the sight of many nations. 28 Then they will know that I am the Lord their God, for though I sent them into exile among the nations, I will gather them to their own land, not leaving any behind. 29 I will no longer hide my face from them, for I will pour out my Spirit on the house of Israel, declares the Sovereign Lord.”

Psalms 145:10, “All you have made will praise you, O Lord; your saints will extol you. 11 They will tell of the glory of your kingdom and speak of your might…”

Revelation 20 describes the climax of human history and the coming millennial reign of our Lord, Jesus Christ on earth following the devastating judgment of chapter 19.

This is the chapter that leads me to believe that Revelation is futuristic, not describing the fall of Jerusalem in 70 AD or the fall of the Roman Empire, centuries ago.

4 “I saw the souls of those who had been beheaded because of their testimony for Jesus and because of the word of God. They had not worshiped the beast or his image and had not received his mark on their foreheads or their hands. They came to life and reigned with Christ a thousand years.”

O bservation

Armageddon then millennium. Clearly futuristic in that this battle has not happened yet.

A pplication

Here we go! We are now approaching the thousand-year reign of Christ in his kingdom on the earth. Nearing the culmination of all things in the next two chapters.

Imagine, a new heaven and a new earth, with Satan bound for a thousand years. Christ reigning and “we” reign with him!

But let’s not get too caught up in that, because we have not entered that time… yet.

We are here, now… called to extend his kingdom, not this coming kingdom that is the fulfillment of all things, but the preaching of the good news… of his coming kingdom!

The kingdom is now… and not yet. It is, yet it is not yet fulfilled, that is, by the coming of Christ.

The final three or four chapters of Revelation reveals the end of all things as we know it. A new heaven and a new earth! Christ reigning on earth after the final judgment of sin.

Wow!

As cool as that is, as exciting as that is to think about, again, we have a job to do, here, now.

P rayer

Lord, may we be faithful to extending your kingdom until such as time as the events of Revelation be fulfilled!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 258

  1. Psalm 145 NLT

    Look at the declarations in this Psalm, and the good news concerning all of God’s promises vs 13.

    David “will” connected to people who will declare, sing, tell… i.e. “They will.”

    This is one Psalm I will write down and think upon. I think I will be putting into action some of the declarations. My words will bless your name and give thanks.

    Psalm 145

    New Living Translation (NLT)
    Psalm 145[a]
    A psalm of praise of David.

    1 I will exalt you, my God and King,
    and praise your name forever and ever.
    2 I will praise you every day;
    yes, I will praise you forever.
    3 Great is the Lord! He is most worthy of praise!
    No one can measure his greatness.

    4 Let each generation tell its children of your mighty acts;
    let them proclaim your power.
    5 I will meditate on your majestic, glorious splendor
    and your wonderful miracles.
    6 Your awe-inspiring deeds will be on every tongue;
    I will proclaim your greatness.
    7 Everyone will share the story of your wonderful goodness;
    they will sing with joy about your righteousness.

    8 The Lord is merciful and compassionate,
    slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love.
    9 The Lord is good to everyone.
    He showers compassion on all his creation.
    10 All of your works will thank you, Lord,
    and your faithful followers will praise you.
    11 They will speak of the glory of your kingdom;
    they will give examples of your power.
    12 They will tell about your mighty deeds
    and about the majesty and glory of your reign.
    13 For your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom.
    You rule throughout all generations.

    The Lord always keeps his promises;
    he is gracious in all he does
    14 The Lord helps the fallen
    and lifts those bent beneath their loads.
    15 The eyes of all look to you in hope;
    you give them their food as they need it.
    16 When you open your hand,
    you satisfy the hunger and thirst of every living thing.
    17 The Lord is righteous in everything he does;
    he is filled with kindness.
    18 The Lord is close to all who call on him,
    yes, to all who call on him in truth.
    19 He grants the desires of those who fear him;
    he hears their cries for help and rescues them.
    20 The Lord protects all those who love him,
    but he destroys the wicked.

    21 I will praise the Lord,
    and may everyone on earth bless his holy name
    forever and ever.

  2. ez. 38:23 And so I will show my greatness and my holiness and I will make myself known in the sight of many nations. Then they will know that I am the Lord. Psm. 145:8 The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love. Thank you for your LOVE!!!

  3. Psalm 145 feels like my soul pouring out.

Leave a Reply

