Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 257

Friday, September 14, 2012

Welcome to Day 257 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ezekiel 36; Ezekiel 37; Psalms 110; Revelation 19 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Ezekiel 36:24, “I will take you out of the nations; I will gather you from all the countries and bring you back into your own land. 25 I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. 26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws. 28 You will live in the land I gave your forefathers; you will be my people, and I will be your God.”

Ezekiel 37:3, “He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”

10 “So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.”

Psalm 110, “The Lord is at your right hand; he will crush kings on the day of his wrath.”

Revelation 19, “But the beast was captured, and with him the false prophet who had performed the miraculous signs on his behalf. With these signs he had deluded those who had received the mark of the beast and worshiped his image. The two of them were thrown alive into the fiery lake of burning sulfur.”

O bservation

Today is all about restoration, victory and life!

A pplication

How about this for a great promise?

“I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. 26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. 27 And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.”

Asking myself, “What moves me to follow his decrees and to be careful to keep his laws?”

That’s a very good question… and I’m not sure I can answer it in the next 30 minutes, really… I will have to really chew on that, and be gut level honest. But sitting here right now, I am just pondering that.

What is my motivation? Is it simply that he put his Spirit in me and that’s the result?

Maybe.

But plenty of people have his Spirit and choose to not follow his decrees or keep his laws, right?

I make a lot of decisions based upon my preferred outcome.

Let me explain, it starts (I think) with simply wanting to honor God. But then the practicalities kick in…

I also don’t do a lot of things, based upon the outcome I don’t want… Meaning, if you don’t want a DUI, don’t drink and drive, right?

Paul said, “Follow my example as I follow the example of Christ.” 1 Corinthians 11. I believe we all should be able to say that at some level. As Christians, we are all called to be an example, right?

So I don’t do a lot of things, simply for that reason.

And I do a lot of things for that reason… in worship, in going to the poor, in how I live, speak, etc…

The fruit of having his Spirit in us is, “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control.” That is (or should be) the result of his spirit living in us. 

Fruit.

The bi-product of him giving us a heart of flesh and putting his Spirit in us!

Fruit.

What kind of fruit is being produced in my life?

Jesus said, “a good tree produces good fruit.” (And the opposite would also be true…)

You may look at your life and not see a lot of good fruit. You may see a valley of bones…

Can these bones live?

You bet they can!

P rayer

Lord, breathe life into the dead areas of my life! I want to produce good fruit…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 257

  1. Marcia Zecchini on said:

    I think the true motivator is relationship. The more I know Him the more I love Him. The more I love Him the more I want to please Him. And this Vineyard Life Journal journey we are on together is certainly one of the tools Father is using to give me a bigger picture of who He is.

Leave a Reply

