Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 253

Monday, September 10, 2012

Welcome to Day 253 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Lamentations 3; Lamentations 4; Lamentations 5; Revelation 15 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Lamentations 3, “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: 22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” 25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; 26 it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

Lamentations 4:22, “O Daughter of Zion, your punishment will end; he will not prolong your exile.”

Lamentations 5:21, “Restore us to yourself, O Lord, that we may return; renew our days as of old… unless you have utterly rejected us and are angry with us beyond measure.”

Revelation 15

With the main adversaries identified (the dragon, the sea beast, the land beast, and Babylon) and the people of God reassured of ultimate victory (chapters 12-14), the full out-pouring of God’s wrath is about to be shown. Chapter fifteen is a “prelude” to the seven bowls of wrath described in the next chapter.

8 “And the temple was filled with smoke from the glory of God and from his power, and no one could enter the temple until the seven plagues of the seven angels were completed.”

O bservation

In spite of their captivity and the desolation of their city, Jerusalem, Jeremiah (the presumed author) calls back to his mind God’s love and faithfulness.

A pplication

In the most difficult times, this is the passage to hang on to!

“Yet this will I call to mind…”

You’ve lost your job, lost a loved one, are struggling with an addiction, problems with your kids…

“Yet this will I call to mind… and therefore I have hope…”

Lamentations was written in the midst of awful, tragic times, yet Jeremiah reflects on God’s goodness.

I love that it says “his compassions never fail. They are new every morning…”

Every morning…

They are new every morning!

When I am going through difficult times, that verse is often my first thought of the day… His mercies (compassions) are new every morning.

David Ruis wrote a song, “Sweet Mercies.” “Let your mercies fall from heaven, new mercies flow from heaven, new mercies for today, shower them down Lord, as we pray.”

I don’t know about you, but I need his mercy every day… every morning!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your compassion, for your mercies that are new every morning!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 253

  1. I have to say that this is tough reading. Women are being violated, people are being tortured and starved to point where death on the battlefield seems to be better.

    I had impression the other day when commenting that the love of money/technology is something we need to separate ourselves from. While reading today, I heard the phrase “I will never leave or forsake you.” Interestingly, when I looked up the verse, it reads In Hebrews 13:5

    Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,

    “Never will I leave you;
    never will I forsake you.”

    I remember how everyone’s priorities changed when the remnants of Ike came through. In the blink of an eye, there were mass extended power outages and made us learn to live more rustically for a while. I don’t know if I would consider this to be suffering on the same level, but it certainly made us encounter life without many of the amenities that we are used to. Hopefully it showed us some blessings that we take for granted. The cool thing is that we got through it loving and serving our neighbors. I think this is God’s desire, but I imagine he would like to see this happen on a regular basis without a disaster of some kind.

    Lord, I thank you for the people in my life who love support me and I cherish the opportunity to love and serve others in your name.

  2. I am late finishing tonite but had a day filled with lil arms around my neck and a 11 yr old who remains one of the apples of my eye. You may have seen us in the balcony. He hadn’t been for awhile. And I could hardly contain my excitement of the seeds I am and have been planting. Like the first verse, lam.3:21 yet THIS I call to mind and therefore I have HOPE. I’ve had a lot of challenges but I have always shown him and told him about God’s faithfulness that we need not be afraid. 57) you came near when I called you and said do not fear. He felt the love there and like all of us we want more. Happily he will be” in tow.” The front rows of our youth just inspire so many and I thank them for igniting us further. We have the best music anywhere (thank you!) And our leaders are just awesome. Father I thank you for my church family and I ask that you pour out your love on each person there. Keep our leaders rested and let our church continue to be a refuge. Thank you for your new mercy each day. I need you God.

Leave a Reply

