Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 249

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Welcome to Day 249 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ezekiel 29; Ezekiel 30; Ezekiel 31; Ezekiel 32; Revelation 11 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Ezekiel 29:1-32:32, this section primarily addresses Egypt and it’s allies.

Ezekiel 29:6,

“Then all who live in Egypt will know that I am the Lord.”

21, “On that day I will make a horn grow for the house of Israel, and I will open your mouth among them. Then they will know that I am the Lord.”

“A horn” symbolizes strength. See Psalm 132:17, “Here I will make a horn grow for David and set up a lamp for my anointed one.”

Ezekiel 30:25, “I will strengthen the arms of the king of Babylon, but the arms of Pharaoh will fall limp.

Then they will know that I am the Lord,

when I put my sword into the hand of the king of Babylon and he brandishes it against Egypt. 26 I will disperse the Egyptians among the nations and scatter them through the countries.

Then they will know that I am the Lord.”

Ezekiel 31:18, ““Which of the trees of Eden can be compared with you in splendor and majesty? Yet you, too, will be brought down with the trees of Eden to the earth below; you will lie among the uncircumcised, with those killed by the sword. This is Pharaoh and all his hordes, declares the Sovereign Lord.”

Ezekiel 32 is a lamentation for Pharaoh, king of Egypt… In short, you and all your allies will be killed.

Summary: Though like a giant cedar tree, Egypt will fall as did Assyria.

Revelation 11:15, “The seventh angel sounded his trumpet, and there were loud voices in heaven, which said: ‘The kingdom of the world has become the kingdom of our Lord and of his Christ, and he will reign for ever and ever.'”

O bservation

Apart from all the detail contained within all the imagery, Revelation 11:15 is the bottom line!

“The kingdom of the world has become the kingdom of our Lord and of his Christ, and he will reign for ever and ever.”

A pplication

I don’t have to wonder or worry about when, what or how things will unfold.

I just need to trust in him, every step along the way…

I know there is still another 11 chapters, but this is the theme of Revelation, Jesus is Lord over heaven and earth, and it will be made abundantly clear to all, at some point.

Interesting thought regarding the “two witnesses.” They could be Moses or Elijah!” Or at least ones who are reminiscent of these two prophets. They have appeared together one other time, right? On the Mount of Transfiguration with Jesus!

Revelation 11:6, “These men have power to shut up the sky so that it will not rain during the time they are prophesying; and they have power to turn the waters into blood and to strike the earth with every kind of plague as often as they want.”

Remember Elijah prayed that it wouldn’t rain, and it didn’t for… Hmmm… 42 months! And if I recall clearly… Hmmm… Moses brought the plagues upon Egypt and turned the Nile into blood.

We can’t be sure as to how literal this is, but there is a startling similarity between the two witnesses and Moses and Elijah, wouldn’t you agree?

Again, so what?

It’s just interesting, not necessarily critical to the outcome…

Back to my point, I don’t have to worry.

Jesus is clearly in control…

I just need to be ready!

P rayer

Thank you Lord that I can trust in you at all times! You are the same yesterday, today and forever!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 249

  1. So true that “so what” all we need to do is trust, don’t worry and be ready. Ready to hear His voice and answer to the call. Thank you for posting daily it is very encouraging!

  2. Knowing that he is The Lord is one thing. Remembering that he is The Lord is another. So many great nations have come and gone. Their going usually corresponds to turning their backs on God, like huge cedars that appear to be stable and permanent, but they can not survive without the root system that can’t be seen. We must remain anchored in Christ.

    I am amazed at how many people are shouting from the rooftops in support of their candidate or political party and so few for Christ. Our motto is, “In God We Trust” but it appears at least that we put more trust in the politicians to solve our problems. Our government may be the mighty tree trunk, but God is the root system.

    I sometimes sit in awe of how big the city is having grown up in a small town in Darke County. Then I realize that we are a small part of the state. Our state is a small part of the country, continent, and planet. Our planet is a small part of the solar system which is infantesimal to the galaxy and universe. It is unfathomable.

    And God created it all.

    And he cares about each one of us.

    I just want to soak that in today. I want to acknowledge how great you are like in the old hymn.

    O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder,
    Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made;
    I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
    Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

    My soul sings for you God.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Shane-Thanks for the reminder of that song!

    Ezekiel 31:10
    “Now then, I, the Sovereign Lord, will tell you what is going to happen to that tree that grew until it reached the clouds. As it grew taller it grew proud”

    Lord, help me not to be proud. Humble me, Lord. Be first in my life. I want you to be my focus. Help me, please, not to be distracted by life.

Leave a Reply

