Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 247

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Welcome to Day 247 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ezekiel 22; Ezekiel 23; Ezekiel 24; Revelation 9 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Ezekiel 22:30, “I looked for a man among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found none.”

Ezekiel 23 compares Samaria and Jerusalem as sister-prostitutes. 29 ” Your lewdness and promiscuity 30 have brought this upon you, because you lusted after the nations and defiled yourself with their idols.”

Ezekiel 24:1, “In the ninth year, in the tenth month on the tenth day, the word of the Lord came to me: 2 ‘Son of man, record this date, this very date, because the king of Babylon has laid siege to Jerusalem this very day.'”

Revelation 9, the fifth and sixth angels sound their trumpets to unleash even more wrath upon the earth.

(There are those who believe, as I have said before, that these events have already taken place, ie the fall of Rome. Still, futurists believe these events are yet to unfold.)

Here is the timeless principle that we always should look for in scripture… That regardless of what is happening around the world, or even to a person, they still have the choice to repent. Many will not. See verse 20 below…

20 “The rest of mankind that were not killed by these plagues still did not repent of the work of their hands; they did not stop worshiping demons, and idols of gold, silver, bronze, stone and wood—idols that cannot see or hear or walk. 21 Nor did they repent of their murders, their magic arts, their sexual immorality or their thefts.”

O bservation

It’s difficult for me to believe that these passages have already occurred, as never in history has 1/3 of mankind been killed in one event or by one plague. (Wondering how literal “hail, fire and blood” was meant to be?)

A pplication

I know I keep going back to this, but, the day or the hour is not important, in that we can not know it anyway. And any attempt to pinpoint a timeline is foolish. (Jesus did say we can know the seasons and recognize the signs of the times. So, in general, we are not left unaware.)

The truth is, though, someone will be right at some point.

It is true that we are at a point in history when it really is possible for “every eye to see” some event, thanks to smart phones and tvs… (I don’t think just because the Bible says, “EVERY eye will see” that it has to mean that literally… Like “Everyone saw it!” meaning a vast majority vs a literal EVERYone.)

I always ask myself, “So what?” What does this have to do with me? Us? How does this apply to us today?

It applies in that people still need to repent from the very things listed in Ezekiel 23. Not much has changed in 3,000 years…

The problem is, many people now believe that truth is relative. If you believe it to be true, then for you it is true. (Much “truth” is impossible to prove.)

Can I prove that Jesus was who he said he was? Can I prove he rose from the dead? I can point to the Bible, but that doesn’t prove it’s “true” for many people.

I may have to say this every day during the reading of Revelation… Just be ready. See the parable of the ten virgins in Matthew 25:1-13.

With the explosion of technology in our generation (landing on the moon, cell phones, internet), we are living in a unique point in history. Add to that, that the nation of Israel was reformed in 1948, many believe that this one event points to these being the “last days” as mentioned in 1 John. (Although John said, “these are the last days…” 1 John 2:18, “Dear children, this is the last hour; and as you have heard that the antichrist is coming, even now many antichrists have come. This is how we know it is the last hour.”

“This is the last hour.” Again, not literally, but figuratively.

We could say the same thing, right?

Having said that, I believe we do live in a unique point in history.

Add to that we now have enough of a nuclear arsenal to destroy the world many times over. China could actually produce an army of 200,000,000. (But who needs an army that size when you can push a button and wipe a country off a map??)

This would not have been possible at any other point in history. Keep in mind the WORLD population didn’t reach the first (one) billion until 1804. Then, it took only 123 years (1927) to double, to two billion. Then, only 33 more years (1960) to reach three billion!

I was born in 1962… at just over three billion people on the planet. In my lifetime, the population has doubled to over seven billion people!

Again, so what? Doesn’t mean much until you read about an army of 200 million people in Revelation and realize that this is now possible. It wasn’t just a few generations ago!

What’s the point?

The point is, we ARE living in a unique time in history when many things are now possible that simply weren’t before at any point!

Only in Star Trek would one be able to talk to a person on a computer screen. Now I can do it on my cell phone via Skype! (Not anxious to be “transported” until they get all the bugs worked out on that one!)

One of the final pieces of the prophetic puzzle is the rebuilding of the Jewish temple… where the Dome of the Rock now stands. This is a toughie… This Muslim shrine was constructed on the very site of the Jewish temple that was destroyed in 70 AD! This shrine would have to be destroyed in order for the Jewish temple to be rebuilt (if it’s important for it to be at the exact same original location… Personally, I’m not sure it has to be. Would it be significant if it were to be built there? Of course. But the destruction of the Dome, even by an earthquake… the sacred nature of the ground itself… they wouldn’t just hand it back over to the Jews. So… who knows?

All of this adds up to one thing: This is an exciting age in which to be living…

“Every eye will see…”

P rayer

Lord, only you know the day and the hour. And I’m ok with that!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 247

  1. Rev.9:6 during those days men will seek death and not find it, they will long to die but death will elude them. 20) the rest of mankind that were not killed by these plagues did not repent of the work of their hands. Father help me to help others to come and bask in your love and forgiveness. I sin against you everyday and realize I am a work in progress. None of us will ever “arrive.” The only difference is at the end of my day I acknowledge my imperfections and
    look to you for help. Let me be a light to help show others how Great and Deep your Love for us is.

  2. “The rest of mankind who were not killed by these plagues still did not repent of the work of their hands”

    Will recognize these for what they were when they happen or would we presume them to be natural disasters or coincidence? I wonder how things will play out. Will they appear to be natural disasters caused by global warming brought on by man? Will it be a terrorist attack? Will it be clearly supernatural?

    I’m not really sure how to apply this. I think to sum it up, I need to love God, love others and stay alert. No matter what.

    Lord, I love you and I need you. I am thankful to all my friends and acquaintances who prayed for me while I’m recovering.

  3. Gary Piovesan on said:

    I just wanted you to know, that after I do my reading and journal I really look forward to reading what you have to share. It always adds so much to my devotions. Thanks Scot.

  4. Gary Piovesan on said:

    It says Gary, but this is really his wife Dorothy writing. We share the same e-mail.

  5. Bonnie Sliver on said:

    I find it extraordinary that God gave the people so many chances to repent. He could have wiped them all out and be done with it. But instead he sent prophets to extol the people to repent and gave so many chances for them to turn away from their sin. Pages and pages of very explicit ways they had done wrong and how to fix it, but they did not turn back to God.

    During a lot of this description, I am shaking in my boots, keeping my head down and pleading “OH, God, oh God, please forgive me!!!” My take away in all of this is, 1 Corinthians 10:12:
    12 Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall. I also know that we have a jealous God that wants our heart, mind and attention and wants the first place in our life. God forgive me that I haven’t always made that happen!

Leave a Reply

