Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 238

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Welcome to Day 238 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 50; Jeremiah 51; 3 John 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 50:34, “Yet their Redeemer is strong; the Lord Almighty is his name. He will vigorously defend their cause so that he may bring rest to their land, but unrest to those who live in Babylon. 35 “A sword against the Babylonians!” declares the Lord.”

Jeremiah 51:55, “The Lord will destroy Babylon; he will silence her noisy din.”

3 John 1:2, “I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers.” (NKJV)

“I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (NIV)

O bservation

I love the language, “he will silence her noisy din” in reference to Babylon.

A pplication

Sin is often like that… a noisy din. Activists who fight for causes that go against God’s righteousness create a noisy din. Often when people are caught up in sin, they can’t hear God’s voice due to the din that is created by poor choices and the results. True for all of us…

The Gospel message can get lost in a din as well… when judgment is proclaimed, when the presentation is without love or mercy or grace, it becomes, as it is compared in 1 Corinthians 13, to “a clanging cymbal…” a din.

Not really sure that there is much more to say about this, except that I pray that the din is quieted in my life. That I am able to hear God’s still small voice amidst the noisy din of life around me…

Reminds me of when Goliath was defying the God of Israel day after day after day. 1 Samuel 17, “So the Philistine said to David, “Am I a dog, that you come to me with sticks?” And the Philistine cursed David by his gods. 44 And the Philistine said to David, “Come to me, and I will give your flesh to the birds of the air and the beasts of the field!”

45 Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword, with a spear, and with a javelin. But I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. 46 This day the Lord will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you and take your head from you. And this day I will give the carcasses of the camp of the Philistines to the birds of the air and the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel. 47 Then all this assembly shall know that the Lord does not save with sword and spear; for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will give you into our hands.”

Lord, silence the din of the Goliaths in the world…

P rayer

Lord, that I would hear your still small voice… that I wouldn’t get caught up in the noisy din of sin.

I pray for all those reading along that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 238

  1. 3 john 4 I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth. 11) do not imitate evil but what is good. Father thank you for my family. Even though our relationships are not perfect, I am standing on your word that “as for me and my house, we will serve only you.”

Leave a Reply

