Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 237

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Welcome to Day 237 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 37; Jeremiah 38; Jeremiah 39; Psalms 79; 2 John 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 37-39, These chapters recount Jeremiah’s last warnings before the fall of Jerusalem and his imprisonment for his unpopular message. His repeated advice to surrender to the Babylonians is ignored, and he remains imprisoned until the fall of Jerusalem. RSB

Jeremiah 39:18, “I will save you [Ebed-Melech the Cushite]; you will not fall by the sword but will escape with your life, because you trust in me, declares the Lord.”

Psalm 79:1, “O God, the nations have invaded your inheritance; they have defiled your holy temple, they have reduced Jerusalem to rubble.”

2 John 1, “And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.”

O bservation

Funny how Jeremiah wrote about himself in third person, 37:4 “Now Jeremiah was free to come and go among the people, for he had not yet been put in prison.”

Jeremiah 39:18, “I will save you [Ebed-Melech the Cushite]; you will not fall by the sword but will escape with your life, because you trust in me, declares the Lord.”

A pplication

Amidst the taking and destruction of Jerusalem, some find mercy because of their trust in the Lord.

Regardless of what is going on around me, that is (or should be) my focus, to trust in the Lord.

2 Chronicles 16:9, “For the eyes of the Lord range [search] throughout the earth to strengthen (show his great power in helping them.) those whose hearts are fully committed to him.”

I believe this to always be the case, it’s always true, in any circumstance.

Jeremiah, who was thrown into prison asked the officials, “Where are those “prophets” who said Jerusalem would not be attacked? Why aren’t they in prison? Why am I??” Even in prison he stayed faithful and gave the word of the Lord as directed.

It’s amazing to me how many followers ended up in prison… most of them, undeserving!

I wonder how I would react?

Would I run the prison as Joseph did? Would I still give the word of the Lord as Jeremiah did? Would an angel rescue me as he did Peter? Would I worship in my chains as Paul did?

Would I be beheaded as John the Baptist? (Sorry, that’s not very encouraging, I know, but that was his outcome…)

When a tube of toothpaste is under pressure, what is inside eventually comes out.

The same is true for us… Under pressure, what I think, feel and believe will eventually come out.

Will I trust in the Lord? Or will I get angry at him for my circumstances?

When I read the Bible, I often will insert myself into the story, not just as a main character, but any character. I look to see myself, good or bad qualities…

I could be Jeremiah the prophet, imprisoned, or I could be Ebed-Melech the Cushite… trusting in the Lord while under siege? What would I say in those circumstances? Would I rise to the occasion or crumble under pressure?

I know this… All I can do is press into the Lord and trust him, daily. Set aside my own agenda for his… bring hope to the hopeless, pray for the sick, encourage those in need…

P rayer

Lord, I trust in you alone!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 237

  1. Sometimes its didmfficult to remember all the names and who belongs to whom. I tend to grab onto what I understand. Each time I read God reveals something new to me I didn’t see last time. Jer 39:17 I will rescue you on that day declares the Lord, you will not be handed over to those you fear. Psm.79:8 do not hold against us the sins of our fathers, may your mercy come quickly to meet us we are in desperate need. From tax bills to electric bills to rent at times its easy to feel beaten and discouraged. I draw closer to Him when it feels so deep. And give thanks for my struggles are fixable. In Him I find comfort. Thank you God!

  2. Bonnie Sliver on said:

    I second that thought…I trust in you God alone. When life is uncertain and things you count on are shaken, God is faithful. He does not change, move or disappoint us.

  3. K M Wetz on said:

    I have begun to see a sense of freedom in my life that I had desired but despaired of ever attaining. But then, I realized that Christ has truly paid it all for me. I had wondered what it meant to have the Law written in one’s heart. It is about having the Holy Spirit within me. It is about worshipping the Lord in spirit and in truth. It is about having rivers of living water bubbling up from deep within me. It is to live to please Christ.

    “For through the Law, I died to the Law–that I might live unto God.”

    How glad I am to see that the Sun of Righteousness has arisen with healing in His wings.

    I am absolutely certain that being baptized was the right thing to do–for I have started on a new life–one that will last forever.

  4. Lord, help me to remain calm under pressure and to not be I pressed with what comes my way. I want people to want what I have. No one can replace the peace you give us. Please help me to walk in that today.

Leave a Reply

