Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 233

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Welcome to Day 233 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 21; Jeremiah 24; Jeremiah 27; Psalms 118; 1 John 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 21, “Sorry, Zedekiah…

Jeremiah 24:7, “I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.”

Jeremiah 27:6, “Now I will hand all your countries over to my servant Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon…”

Psalm 118:24 ” This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. 25 “O Lord, save us; O Lord, grant us success.”

14 “The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”

28 “You are my God, and I will give you thanks; you are my God, and I will exalt you.”

1 John 2:1-2, “My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. 2 He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.”

15 Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For all that is in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—is not of the Father but is of the world. 17 And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever.” (NKJV)

O bservation

I was shocked to see Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon referred to as “my servant.” (Jeremiah 27:6)

A pplication

I guess God really can use anybody for his purposes…

Daniel 4:29, “As the king [Nebuchadnezzar] was walking on the roof of the royal palace of Babylon, 30 he said, “Is not this the great Babylon I have built as the royal residence, by my mighty power and for the glory of my majesty?” 31 The words were still on his lips when a voice came from heaven, “This is what is decreed for you, King Nebuchadnezzar: Your royal authority has been taken from you. 32 You will be driven away from people and will live with the wild animals; you will eat grass like cattle. Seven times will pass by for you until you acknowledge that the Most High is sovereign over the kingdoms of men and gives them to anyone he wishes.” (Emphasis is mine.)

Compare that passage to what the LORD says…

Isaiah 10:13, “For he says: “‘By the strength of my hand I have done this, and by my wisdom, because I have understanding. I removed the boundaries of nations, I plundered their treasures; like a mighty one I subdued their kings.”

International leaders may think they are in control, but they are not. Our president isn’t, the leaders in the Middle East aren’t, those in South America aren’t either.

God is in control.

Make no mistake about it… Ultimately He has it all in his hands, and we don’t have to wonder or worry.

No king who builds a monument to himself, no leader that makes threats or promises…

God is in control.

He decides.

We can rest in that!

P rayer

I think you Lord that you have it all in your hands. The world, the nations, our city, my family… me.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 233

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 John 2:15-17
    “15 Do not love the world or anything that belongs to the world. If you love the world, you do not love the Father.16 Everything that belongs to the world—what the sinful self desires, what people see and want, and everything in this world that people are so proud of—none of this comes from the Father; it all comes from the world.17 The world and everything in it that people desire is passing away; but those who do the will of God live forever.”

    So much to meditate on here.
    How I spend my time, what I focus on, where I put my money…

    Lord, I desire you more than anything that the world has to offer.
    Please help me to let my life reflect that.

  2. The word came to Jeremiah from the Lord when King Zedekiah sent to him Pashhur son of Malkijah and the priest Zephaniah son of Maaseiah. They said: “Inquire now of the Lord for us because Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon is attacking us. Perhaps the Lord will perform wonders for us as in times past so that he will withdraw from us.”

    They are using God as a last resort now that the wolf is at the door. This doesn’t work of course.

    “Furthermore, tell the people, ‘This is what the Lord says: See, I am setting before you the way of life and the way of death. Whoever stays in this city will die by the sword, famine or plague. But whoever goes out and surrenders to the Babylonians who are besieging you will live; they will escape with their lives.

    The only way out is surrender.

    Application 1 is to put God first in everything. I’ve been working on this, but it’s hard to get past worldliness. I believe that I am at a point where God is much higher on the list, that is, I’m not at the dead end before going to God. Prayer is where my worldly issues (good and bad) meet Jesus.
    Application 2 goes along with #1. That is to surrender to God.

    Thank you for Your patience is I continue to learn that surrendering to you is the best option. I know that I can trust You for the right answer.

  3. Kelley Flees on said:

    Thank you Lord that I do not have to know all the answers, but simply believe and trust the one who does. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

