Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 231

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 231 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 45; Jeremiah 46; Jeremiah 47; John 21 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 45 records God’s promise to Baruch, son of Neriah… v 5 “I will bring disaster on all people, declares the Lord, but wherever you go I will let you escape with your life.’”

Jeremiah chapters 46-51 are a series of judgment oracles against surrounding nations. 46 concerns Egypt.

Jeremiah 47 is an oracle of judgment against the Philistines.

Psalm 105:3b, “Let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice. 4 Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.”

John 21:7, “As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, “It is the Lord,” he wrapped his outer garment around him (for he had taken it off) and jumped into the water. 8 The other disciples followed in the boat…”

O bservation

I love that Peter went for it, jumping right into the water to get to Jesus as fast as he could.

A pplication

“As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, “It is the Lord,” he wrapped his outer garment around him (for he had taken it off) and jumped into the water. 8 The other disciples followed in the boat…”

Yet again, Peter is the only one to get out of the boat. (Remember when Peter walked on the water? He was the one who said, “Jesus, if it is really you, tell me to come to you.” “Come,” Jesus said…

Peter got out of the boat and began walking on the water toward Jesus.

In this instance, he knew that Jesus, now the risen Christ, was a mere 100 yards away on shore.

Keep in mind that the last time they had spoken was in the upper room the night Jesus was betrayed. Jesus had told him then that he would deny knowing him three times that night, before the rooster crowed.

Luke 22:60 records their last encounter, “Peter replied, “Man, I don’t know what you’re talking about!” Just as he was speaking, the rooster crowed. 61 The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter. Then Peter remembered the word the Lord had spoken to him: “Before the rooster crows today, you will disown me three times.” 62 And he went outside and wept bitterly.

Even though Jesus had appeared to the disciples after the resurrection, there’s no record of a direct exchange between Peter and Jesus (or Jesus and any other specific disciple…).

Here they are alone on a beach, while the other disciples are rowing toward shore.

I would really like to know what was said in that moment.

Jesus asked them to bring some of the fish they had caught, and they shared a meal together…

Then Jesus addresses Peter directly… “Peter, do you love me more than these?” Three times he asked Peter.

(Peter must have been feeling horrible about denying Jesus, the one he proclaimed as the Christ!)

Jesus simply invited him to “take care my sheep.”

Just days later, on the day of Pentecost, Peter preached his first message about Jesus and three thousand people were saved! (Acts 2:40).

God used Peter right where he was at. Peter was… impetuous? Imperfect. Flawed. (Not enough time to go into all of Peter’s antics…)

But he loved Jesus and God used him to ignite the early church!

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you still use imperfect people!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 231

  1. I loved that Peter jumped into the water and headed towards shore. Thank you Scott for reminding me what their last meeting was. It painted a much different picture than I had seen reading this morning. Imagine Peters excitement. A chance to see Jesus face to face again. John 21:17 feed my sheep. 19) follow me! And 22)if I want him to remain alive until I return what is it to you? You must follow me!. I sensed a whole MYOB. focus on Him and forget what’s going on around me. Look to Him. Psm.105:8 he remembers his covenant forever, the word he commanded for a thousand generations 9) the covenant he made with Abraham, the oath he swore to Issac. Father thank you for loving me where I am and for your forgiveness. That we are a part of the thousand generations.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    John 21:1-14
    The verses here just remind me of how Jesus is our friend. Hanging out on the beach, sharing a meal together, talking…
    He provides all of our needs and so many of our wants. He is our friend, our confidant. He takes care of us. I just love the picture here. At first I was thinking how fabulous it would be to hang out on a beach with him. But I can do that today. Not in person, but in spirit-he is with me. I feel his presence.

    Oh, Jesus, I love you. Thank you for being my friend. Thank you for meeting my needs, for holding my hand, for being all around me. You bring me peace. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  3. Thank you Lord for daily opening our eyes to the opportunities we have to be a blessing to others. Too often people know they are different but must realize others are different too. We all have our unique characteristics and flaws. God can use us all for something beautiful.

    Lord, you have send my husband to UK for 3 weeks. Please help me learn what you want me to learn during this time. Today, I was already reminded not to take people for granted. I do love my husband, but I do not live for him. We share this thing called life together. However, Lord, you are with me always. You are there in the good and the bad. Thank you SO MUCH for your unconditional love. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

