Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 227

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Welcome to Day 227 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 18; Jeremiah 19; Jeremiah 20; John 17 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 18:7, “If at any time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down and destroyed, 8 and if that nation I warned repents of its evil, then I will relent and not inflict on it the disaster I had planned. 

Jeremiah 19, yet again, more doom and gloom… destruction and judgment…

Jeremiah 20, I think Jeremiah must be tired of it, too… “Why did I ever come out of the womb to see trouble and sorrow and to end my days in shame?”

Psalm 93:1, “The Lord reigns, he is robed in majesty; the Lord is robed in majesty and is armed with strength.”

John 17:20, “I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22 I have given them the glory that you gave me…”

O bservation

“If at any time… that nation I warned repents of its evil, then I will relent and not inflict on it the disaster I had planned.”

AT ANY TIME! (That, my friends, is what we call “mercy.)

A pplication

Funny thing I noticed about my own blog… often times my Application has nothing really to do with my Observation. Have you also noticed that about yours? I wonder why that is…

I think in my case it’s that just because I made a note-worthy observation, that’s not necessarily what I feel God is speaking to me about, or what applies to my life. Although of course it’s good to know, “At any time!”

We had a guest speaker at our staff meeting Wednesday. His name is Jesse Cupp, our regional Global Legacy guy from Bethel Church… he came to meet and encourage our staff.

One of the verses in today’s reading from John is one he referenced during our staff meeting. John 17:21, “that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us…”

I think that’s a request the Father is happy to grant, or at least was going to happen, and Jesus simply made it known to us! “May they also be in us.” How cool is that?? And that Jesus has given us the glory that the Father gave to him!

“May they also be in us…”

Paul wrote in Ephesians 2:6, “And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus…”

He has already raised us up WITH Christ, seated us WITH him IN the heavenly realms, IN Christ Jesus.

We are already WITH him AND IN him! How cool is THAT??

It’s already done. Finished.

They say you can’t be in two places at once?

I can! And I AM… in two places at once!

I am seated here, at the table at my breakfast nook… AND I am seated in the heavenly realms IN Christ Jesus.

If you are a believer in Christ, the same is true for you. I think just most people don’t think about this stuff… That we are no longer sinners saved by grace. We are saints! I was a sinner, but once Christ saved me, I am no longer a sinner! (Not because of anything I have done, that’s for sure!) But because of what HE has done!

He said on the cross, “It… is… finished.”

He paid my debt in full!

P rayer

Thank you Lord!!!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 227

  1. Yesterday I wanted to write here but the day slipped away. When I am filled with uncertainty I tend to lock into the verses that empower me. By uncertainty I mean my finances. Many of you know I lost my business and my home last year. But I’ve been on this amazing walk long before those things “happened.” I fell behind earlier this year in my rent and every week I get closer to be current. I refuse to give up. AND I refuse to be sad or angry abt my situation. That’s why I latch on to verses like jer. 20:11 but the Lord is with me like a mighty warrior so my persecutors will stumble and fall. And Psalms 93;1the Lord reigns. He is robed in majesty. When I am restored there will be no mistake where my help came from. I WILL be restored. He promised to do that for me. The whole beauty for ashes. When my attitude tries to head south the Comforter comes and soothes my spirit. I’m so grateful.

  2. So these messages from the Lord
        have made me a household joke.

    I can relate to this. I don’t regret being born, but there are many times that I want to say (and have), “Why do I bother?” Then there is the small voice inside of me saying to carry on…

    But if I say I’ll never mention the Lord
        or speak in his name,
    his word burns in my heart like a fire.
        It’s like a fire in my bones!
    I am worn out trying to hold it in!
        I can’t do it!

    Exactly.

    I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me through their message. I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me.

    ❤ ❤ ❤

    I need to carry on. I don't know why it is so hard to market Christ's love. It is free and powerful, yet people seem to resist it so much. My desire is to create opportunities for people to worship Jesus and experience His presence. I want to break down the walls in Christ's church. So many things divide us… So much red tape and protocol… It seems like we are walking through a maze with numerous dead ends to find You. We need more Christ in the world. You are right here, so why do we think we have to search.

    Lord, let Your presence fill this world. Tear down the walls that divide us. Give me the strength to carry on and do Your will. Thank you for being in me and allowing me to be in You. I can't live without You.

  3. Kelley Flees on said:

    You took my place Lord. Guilt and shame are over-rated. I want no part of it. Lord, bring me back to the truth. We are free in you. Help me to walk in freedom.

Leave a Reply

