Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 225

Monday, August 13, 2012

Welcome to Day 225 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 13; Jeremiah 14; Jeremiah 15; John 15 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 13:27, “Woe to you, O Jerusalem! How long will you be unclean?”

Jeremiah 14:21, “Remember your covenant with us and do not break it. 22 Do any of the worthless idols of the nations bring rain? Do the skies themselves send down showers? No, it is you, O Lord our God. Therefore our hope is in you…”

Jeremiah 15:19, “Therefore this is what the Lord says: “If you repent, I will restore you that you may serve me.”

John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

O bservation

Today I’m focusing on Christ!

A pplication

Jesus came to show us the Father. (John 14:9)

How about this for a statement from yesterday’s reading, “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except by me.”

That’s a bold statement, isn’t it.

No one.

Jesus came to make a way for us to know the Father.

He came to show us the Father.

How about this for yet another bold statement? “I am the vine you are the branches. Apart from me you can do nothing.”

Nothing?

Well, not nothing… obviously we can do a lot, but what he is saying is that apart from him we can do nothing of any eternal value. Nothing that will last. Apart from him I am just going my own way, doing my own thing.

But with him, I am making an eternal impact. I am changing the destiny for people, for our city.

I always say, our food distributions are more than food. I would go as far to say it’s good to feed the hungry… but apart from him, it’s just good people doing good works… meeting a felt need… but with no eternal ramifications.

Keep in mind, eternity begins here on earth, not just after we have taken our last breath! It’s already begun.

I am already a citizen of heaven. I am already seated in heavenly places with Christ Jesus! I just haven’t arrived there yet. (And I’m in no hurry to, just for the record!) I’ll get there eventually, but in the meantime, I’m here, doing the work God has called me to.

Funny, I think there are plenty of people unaware that they are even impacting eternity by what they are doing…

Matthew 25:37, ““Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’”

What did we do?? Huh??

Make no mistake, God is in the small things. The littlest effort to do something for the sake of the Kingdom.

When done in humility, and attached to the Vine, it has lasting impact.

Every visit.

Every drink of water.

Every bag of groceries.

I’m not arrogant about it, I just know it is making an eternal difference! Scripture says so! The key is to do it in humility. Not to be seen by others, but to do it as unto the Lord. To let Christ work through us… to stay connected to Him. To do it for His glory, not ours.

Apart from Him we can do nothing…

P rayer

Lord, I want to stay close, connected to you… I don’t want to do anything for my glory, but for yours!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 225

  1. Bonnie Sliver on said:

    This reminds me of the scripture that even Jesus did not go his own way and only did what his Father did. ” I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.” John 5:19. I pray that I can see what The Father does and stay in that and follow Him!

  2. This is the way I am going to ruin the pride of Judah and the great pride of Jerusalem—a wicked bunch of people who won’t obey me, who do only what they want to do, who chase after all kinds of no-gods and worship them. They’re going to turn out as rotten as these old shorts.

    Watch closely. I’m going to fill every person who lives in this country—the kings who rule from David’s throne, the priests, the prophets, the citizens of Jerusalem—with wine that will make them drunk. And then I’ll smash them, smash the wine-filled jugs—old and young alike.

    Without having God in control of my life, I’m as useful as a pair of used underwear that have been outside for years rotting. Not very useful. Without God, it’s like walking around in a drunken stupor, indecisive, unsure, afraid…

    I was thinking of spiritual intoxication. When intoxicated physically, we loose control of our bodies and minds. Our vision is blurred and we become agreeable to many things we normally wouldn’t. Intoxicated people will listen to about about anyone who comes along and they have trouble telling friend from foe and are easily taken advantage of. Spiritual intoxication is much the same way I think. 1 Peter 4:7 says “The end of all things is near. Therefore be clear minded and self-controlled so that you can pray.” 1 Thessalonians 5:6 says “So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled.”

    Keep focused on God and see what He is doing. I am a small part of that. A small branch. Even the smallest of branches bear great fruit when connected to Jesus. Listen and obey.

    Thank you for including me. I want to continue to bear fruit for you. Thank you for letting me in on everything you’ve heard from the Father. Sometimes it seems that there are great mysteries, but there are no secrets. Help me to love and serve others and know what to ask. Not my will, but Yours be done.

  3. Gordon White on said:

    Isreal was blessed above all other nations, by God, because He chose them to be His people to to carry the message of the kingdom to the world. But they didn’t they chose to follow other gods.
    In conparison our nation has been blessed above all other nations, by God, to carry the massage of salvation to the world which we have to a great degree but here at home our nation as a hole has, and is contuing to, reject God. Because of this He is sending judgements to our land to call us as a nation back to him. I hope we as a nation will wake up and return to Him with a humble repent heart before it is to late.
    We who are call by his name humble ourselfs and seck his face for forgiveness to restore our fellowship with Him That our joy may be complete.

    • I don’t see judgment upon our nation… I see blessing beyond belief!

      Our standard of living is so far above any other country in the world. If God really wanted to bring judgment, He wouldn’t mess around with an earthquake here and there, or an occasional tsunami. Even a total financial collapse doesn’t mean it’s God’s judgment. More the foolishness of mankind?

      There are more Christians on our planet at this particular point in history than ever before! And the Gospel is being preached all over the globe like never before, in large part, thanks to our great nation!

  4. Kelley Flees on said:

    Lord, help to know immediately the moment I come unglued from the vine. I do not want to be alone or powerless. Time is precious. May I feel your presence today as we walk together.

Leave a Reply

