Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 224

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Welcome to Day 224 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 10; Jeremiah 11; Jeremiah 12; John 14 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 10:5, “Like a scarecrow in a melon patch, their idols cannot speak; they must be carried because they cannot walk. Do not fear them; they can do no harm nor can they do any good.”

Jeremiah 11:13, “You have as many gods as you have towns, O Judah; and the altars you have set up to burn incense to that shameful god Baal are as many as the streets of Jerusalem.”

Jeremiah 12:3, “Yet you know me, O Lord; you see me and test my thoughts about you.”

John 14:6, “Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.'”

18 “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.”

O bservation

Yet again we are reminded that idols are worthless and shameful. In spite of Israel and Judah’s constant turning away from the Lord, God ultimately promises, “I will not leave you as orphans.”

A pplication

I mentioned this the other day and it’s been somewhat of a consistent theme in this journal that we are sons, not slaves.

God promises not to leave us as orphans… Those who have no father or mother.

We have a father who will never leave us or forsake us.

Even in Israel’s turning away, even with Judah’s idolatry God promises to watch over them…

But it is not without consequence.

There is much scripture about the direct results of their sin and idolatry. In so many words God says, “Let those worthless idols you bow down to you save you. Pray to them for rain. Let them guard your cities.”

It’s hard for me in some ways to understand their turning away from the Lord. With all the miraculous signs and his faithfulness to them for generations, still, they married foreign women, who led them astray.

Ultimately it was Israel’s downfall, and it cost them dearly.

Yet… God’s ultimate promise is that he would never leave us or forsake us.

Wow.

Even with OUR turning away? With our messed up priorities? With all tendency to turn away from God? To trust in our own strength, wisdom and provision?

God’s heart is that we trust him. For all of that and more. To not trust in our ourselves (not for salvation, obviously) but for everything.

God wants me to trust him for everything.

P rayer

Lord forgive me for the times I have put my trust in anything but you.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 224

  1. I was traveling from Houston, TX to home early Sunday morning… Landed, then immediately went to our Vineyard golf outing. Went home and crashed! Did both Sunday and Monday’s journal entries this morning (Monday morning.)

    I really work hard at keeping up with this every day. Some days it just isn’t possible with late nights and early meetings.

    Even then, I try to at least get the basic post up, even if I can’t get my SOAP completed…

    I try to give myself the same leeway and grace that I would give to anyone else… “Just make it up when you can!” So, that’s what I do. : )

    I appreciate all your encouragement along the way!

  2. Kelley Flees on said:

    Lord, I set my mind right now that no matter what comes my way today you and I can handle it. I trust you to be my guide.

Leave a Reply

