Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 223

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Welcome to Day 223 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 7; Jeremiah 8; Jeremiah 9; John 13 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 7:17, “Do you not see what they are doing in the towns of Judah and in the streets of Jerusalem? 18 The children gather wood, the fathers light the fire, and the women knead the dough and make cakes of bread for the Queen of Heaven. They pour out drink offerings to other gods to provoke me to anger. 19 But am I the one they are provoking? declares the Lord.

Are they not rather harming themselves, to their own shame?”

Jeremiah 8:21, “Since my people are crushed, I am crushed.”

Jeremiah 9:13, “The Lord said, “It is because they have forsaken my law, which I set before them; they have not obeyed me or followed my law. 14 Instead, they have followed the stubbornness of their hearts.”

23 ““Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,” declares the Lord.”

John 13:6, “He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?” 7 Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.” 8 “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”

O bservation

As a father, I know how hard it is to see my kids through difficult times… Seems God has similar feelings, “Since they are crushed, I am crushed.” (Obviously not in an emotionally crippling way, but in an identifying way.)

A pplication

“Let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me…”

What I get from that is, it IS possible to understand and know God.

Some may not understand that… It sounds almost implausible… But as we read the scriptures, we do gain knowledge about God, how He thinks, what He values, etc… Even down to salvation, how it works, why it is the way it is…

Again, it comes back to this: Relationship.

I hammer that one nail, over and over and over…

But it is so clear and so… simple… to me.  “Let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me…”

It’s not about all the rules, the Law, etc… it’s about the relationship. Are the rules important? Certainly! They are there for our own good, just like I mentioned in Jeremiah 7 and 9.

But one can “keep the Law” and not have relationship.

My kids could abide by my rules and we could have little or no relationship, right? They could keep their curfew, be respectful, stay out of trouble, but we could have little or no relationship.

Same with God.

What He wants is for us to understand and know him…

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you have made a way for us to not just know about you, but to know you!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 223

  1. Kelley Flees on said:

    I am only as close to God as I choose to be. Lord draw close to me as I draw close to you. I love our relationship. May it continue to grow.

Leave a Reply

