Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 222

Friday, August 10, 2012

Welcome to Day 222 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Jeremiah 5; Jeremiah 6; John 12 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Jeremiah 5:1, “If you can find but one person who deals honestly and seeks the truth, I will forgive this city.”

Jeremiah 6:16, “This is what the Lord says: ‘Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls…’ But you said,

‘We will not walk in it.’”

John 12:42, “Yet at the same time many even among the leaders believed in him…

But because of the Pharisees they would not confess their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; 43 for they loved praise from men more than praise from God.”

O bservation

Wow! Many even among the leaders believed in him!

… But…

A pplication

I can’t say that I ever took note of this verse before. I’ve noted verse 43, “they loved praise from men more than praise from God,” but never noticed that “many even among the leaders believed in him.”

Being part of the synagogue was a huge part of their culture…

In our culture, people would “just find another church.”

That aside, MANY among the leaders believed in him!

MANY! It think that’s pretty cool… The Pharisees, Sadducees and the Teachers of the Law… and other leaders, get a bad rap because of how they treated Jesus… but MANY of them believed in him.

Yet, for fear of being put out of the synagogue, (or their love of the praise of men) they kept it to themselves.

How often do we do that?

Excuse me… how often do I do that? (This is my blog…)

How often do we keep our faith to ourselves because of fear? What will they think??

Makes me think of the verse, Matthew 10:32, ““Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven. 33 But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven.”

There is something to be said about being public with our faith. To let our light shine… Not to hide it…

That verse in Jeremiah 5:1… If I can find just one honest person…

Just one..

Just one who will be honest.

Just one who will let their light shine.

Just one who will acknowledge me before men…

Just one.

P rayer

That you Lord that your eyes are on the one… as well as on the masses…

“For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” 2 Chronicles 16:9

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 222

  1. So true. Jesus doesn’t often fit into popular culture. What will people think if they label me a Jesus Freak? I think I’ll just label myself as one and save them the trouble.

    Stand at the crossroads and look;
        ask for the ancient paths,
    ask where the good way is, and walk in it,
        and you will find rest for your souls.

    Sometimes, it’s good to go back to the basics. I don’t think we need to perform burnt sacrifices, but we need to occasionally get back to heart of worship. And it’s all about Jesus.

    I need to get alone with Jesus more often. I love corporate worship, but it’s been a while since I just went for a long walk and focused on what heaven is doing. No agenda… No prayer request list…

    Lord, I am looking forward to some time together. I know you will be there. I know I will come out with direction and purpose.

Leave a Reply

